What is SBL62478?

Discussion in 'Broadband' started by Peter, Aug 27, 2015.

  1. Peter

    Peter Guest

    This got bounced back, and it happens every time I email this person

    SMTP error from remote mail server after RCPT
    host os-srvr-proxy01.kabeltex.nl []:
    554 5.7.1 <[my address]>: Sender address rejected:

    When I google on SBL62478 I get this as the #1 hit


    and it says
    Could it be a fake bounce, allowing the person to receive emails with
    the sender thinking they are not getting through?
    Peter, Aug 27, 2015
    1. Advertisements

  2. Peter

    Peter Guest

    Any offers on this one?

    Peter, Aug 30, 2015
    1. Advertisements

  3. Any reason you couldn't google SBL?

    Your mail was rejected by the recipient mail server because the sending
    IP address was in the Spamhaus block list due to your ISP having
    previously ignored reports of abuse (spam) emanating from its network.

    You need to take this up with your ISP:
    so you're in Holland, but posting to a UK group expecting help?

    Whinge at your ISP Kabeltex, they're the problem.
    Mike Tomlinson, Aug 30, 2015
  4. Peter

    Peter Guest

    I did and it said there was no entry for that SBL.

    This has happened before with that particular recipient. To me it
    looked like the block has expired by the time I checked it, but that
    seems wrong.
    MY ISP is actually ZEN UK :)

    So you think ZEN have been hosting a spammer?
    I am in the UK.
    Peter, Aug 30, 2015
  5. Peter

    Phil W Lee Guest

    I haven't had any problem sending, from a Zen account.
    I suspect the particular block of IP addresses you are on may have
    been blocked, perhaps due to a subscriber within that block of IPs
    having a computer which has become infected with something which a
    spammer is using to send.
    The fault is only with the user in that they didn't secure their
    computer properly.
    It may also be that the receiving server is using stale cached SBL
    data, if it seems to be a regular problem with just that addressee.
    Phil W Lee, Sep 1, 2015
  6. That implies the recipient's mail server doesn't like something about
    either your sender address or the IP of the mail server that's relaying it.

    I'm not surprised. The SBL list will only typically contain IP
    addresses/ranges, not references like that contained in the rejection

    Doubt it. I'd guess at:

    - The outbound server you're using to send email has wound up on the PBL
    list (whose server are you using?).

    - You're running your own SMTP server, and your WAN IP is either from a
    dynamic pool or has suffered the same fate as above (either at the
    negligence of yourself or a previous owner).

    - The recipient mail server is interrogating all IP's in the received
    mail headers, including your WAN IP (which if you're not relaying mail
    directly is not a very clever thing for them to be doing).
    Plusnet Support Team, Sep 1, 2015
  7. Peter

    Peter Guest

    N/A but I agree; used to do this years ago and the IP gets blocked all
    the time because ISPs' dynamic IP blocks are known - even if my IP is
    a "fixed" IP. I think most ISPs' "fixed" IPs actually come from a
    dynamic IP block but they config their DHCP server to always dish out
    the same IP.
    Peter, Sep 1, 2015
  8. Well, using what I believe to be Zen's SPF records, I can tell you that
    none of the listed IP's are on Spamhaus' SBL:
    Plusnet Support Team, Sep 2, 2015
  9. En el artículo <>,
    They're not now, but they were at the time the OP tried to send his
    Mike Tomlinson, Sep 2, 2015
  10. Peter

    Peter Guest

    Is there a simple procedure I can use next time to track this sort of
    thing down?

    Any tips much appreciated.

    This happened during a mailshot I was doing to about 1000 people (a
    forum I run) which was mailed at a rate of one email every minute, to
    minimise the chances of it being labelled as spam (I know most ISPs
    now do profiling/signaturing across the incoming emails).

    We tried a commercial mailing service but apart from other issues,
    gmail dropped maybe 1/3 of it.

    This 60-second delay works pretty well. A 10-sec delay works much less
    well. I need to avoid including URLs or image attachments, as that is
    dodgy (especially with gmail). And the sender domain (the bit to the
    right of the @) has the SPF set up hopefully correctly to correspond
    with ZEN's SMTP server.

    But this one guy generated exactly the same bounce error on two
    mailings about a month apart, which I thought was very odd.
    Peter, Sep 2, 2015
  11. If you know the IP's of the servers you're relaying through (which if
    you're using SPF you will), then most online RBL checks will identify
    issues with Spamhaus' lists in advance of a send:

    Plusnet Support Team, Sep 3, 2015
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.