Two Router Home Network Question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Ace5high, Nov 19, 2013.

1. Ace5high

Ace5high

I could really use some Help! So Much thanks to anyone who reads and contributes!!!

I'm a real novice when it comes to networks even though I've been building my own computers for 20+ years, building websites, SEO SEM etc... But networks just KILL ME!

I know enough to get by all these years with good equipment etc... Now that Im living in bigger homes, running home based businesses I need some proper home network tips.

Here's my setup

• bright house (time warner) cable modem (newer model) gigabit capable with 30+ Mbps (likely will upgrade this though)
    • Asus RT-AC66R (primary router)
    • Netgear WNDR3400 N600 (old router but works like new)
    • No Ethernet cabling in my two story 3000sqft home :(
    • Sprint Airrave (cell service w/sprint sux)
    • Main work office downstairs near family room with Main router setup
    • ZyXEL PLA420 - 500 Mbps wall plugs (works pretty good considering)
    • All AC66R Lan ports occupied with devices and one Lan to the ZyXEL plug

At any given time I might have between 7-15 devices connected, apple tv, Roku, phones etc...

Most of the devices are on second floor including a second "office" for fun with gaming PC laptops etc. Been replying on wireless and signal is weak, doesn't cover whole house well.

SO Just today used the ZyXEL wall plugs to run both routers LAN to LAN configured almost identical.

Asus AC66 set DHCP 192.168.1.1 N600 set 192.168.1.2 DHCP disabled.

Both routers set 2.4g and 5g running opposing channels, WPA2 with Identical SSID's
    Wireless repeating turned off on the N600

View attachment 22

Now I could not get it to work as 1 SSID still, UNTIL I Manually assigned the IP on the DHCP list with the N600 Mac address... Rebooted and voilĂ ! All a sudden Im getting my Asus 2.4 and 5g ssid's super strength upstairs!

View attachment 23