Cisco IOS 2908 Exceeded Size Limit

Discussion in 'Cisco' started by rdbrock, Dec 23, 2008.

  1. rdbrock

    rdbrock

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I just bought a used Cisco2908 XL switch. It came with 11.2, so I decided to upgrade, but I think I'm missing something here......

    The specs shows 8 DRAM and 4 RAM, I tried to TFTP my new 12.0.5 image which is 1.8 megs, however I kept getting Not enought space like this:
    I deleted the HTML crap, Etc, ect, So I thought I was good to go.. but no luck....

    Loading c2900xl-c3h2l9s-mz.120-5.WC17.bin from 192.168.1.12 (via VLAN1): !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    %Error writing system:running-config (Not enough space)

    So I got ****ed and formatted ( hehehehehe), which I thought I'd start from new, already knowing the risk that I would no longer has an IOS, and have to probably xmodem, which is ok( I don't know yet how to ) but this will be a good learning experience for me on the switch family, but after I formatted it only shows 1.7 MB, however the new firmware is 1.8. AM I missing something here??????



    Switch#format flash:
    Format operation may take a while. Continue? [confirm]
    Format operation will destroy all data in "flash". Continue? [confirm]
    flashfs[5]: 0 files, 1 directories
    flashfs[5]: 0 orphaned files, 0 orphaned directories
    flashfs[5]: Total bytes: 1728000
    flashfs[5]: Bytes used: 1024
    flashfs[5]: Bytes available: 1726976
    flashfs[5]: flashfs fsck took 3 seconds.
    Format of flash: complete
    Switch#
    Switch#dir flash:
    Directory of flash:

    No files in directory

    1728000 bytes total (1726976 bytes free)
    Switch#




    C2900XL Boot Loader (C2900-HBOOT-M) Version 11.2(8)SA1, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
    Compiled Tue 03-Feb-98 14:59 by rheaton
    starting...
    Base ethernet MAC Address: 00:90:2b:b9:88:40
    Xmodem file system is available.
    Initializing Flash...
    flashfs[0]: 0 files, 1 directories
    flashfs[0]: 0 orphaned files, 0 orphaned directories
    flashfs[0]: Total bytes: 1728000
    flashfs[0]: Bytes used: 1024
    flashfs[0]: Bytes available: 1726976
    flashfs[0]: flashfs fsck took 2 seconds.
    ...done Initializing Flash.
    Loading "flash:c2900XL-h-mz-112.8-SA1"...flash:c2900XL-h-mz-112.8-SA1: no such file or directory

    Error loading "flash:c2900XL-h-mz-112.8-SA1"

    Interrupt within 5 seconds to abort boot process.
    Boot process failed...

    The system is unable to boot automatically. The BOOT
    environment variable needs to be set to a bootable
    image.

    switch:
    switch:
    switch:



    How Can I fit a 1.8mb IOS into Flash when it shows 1.7mb avail ( when specs shows a 4m ?) I opened up the switch and there is no place for ram addition, everything is fixed in 1 board. I don't show any dir:vram or dir:nvarm.


    Can anyone suggest where I can upload the IOS image to?
    I;m a bit confused here where the 8Dram is and 4Ram is, as I only show 1.7 avail.. help.. Any suggestion is appreciated.

    Thanks
     
    rdbrock, Dec 23, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. rdbrock

    rdbrock

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know what I'm talking about or know the storage info history somewhere other than flash in this cisco switch?
    Perphaps I'm doing something wrong, can someone confirm / help / comment?
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2008
    rdbrock, Dec 23, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. rdbrock

    rdbrock

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    My persistence paid off, I found out that this is an earlier model Original Edition XLs and it only has (2 MB Flash, 4 MB DRAM). Apparently I'm stuck with 11.2.8 due to flash size. This solves the problem. Case closed, no one responded, but thanks anyways, I got it figured out, sometimes is better to ask yourself questions to comeup with the answer. :)
     
    rdbrock, Dec 24, 2008
    #3
  4. rdbrock

    lalitgoyal

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    hardly anybody ever replies!!!!:sleep:
     
    lalitgoyal, Dec 29, 2008
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.