VOIP Port Number

Discussion in 'VOIP' started by True Jack, Aug 4, 2003.

  1. True Jack

    True Jack Guest

    What port does VOIP run at?

    For example SMTP runs on 25, FTP runs on 21.

    Is there a particular port that VOIP runs on.

    We are planning to use VOIP phones in our office, I want to do a port
    forwarding in my router, where the VOIP traffic is automatically sent
    to a particular IP address.
     
    True Jack, Aug 4, 2003
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. (True Jack) writes:
    > What port does VOIP run at?
    > For example SMTP runs on 25, FTP runs on 21.
    > Is there a particular port that VOIP runs on.


    Depends on the type of VOIP.

    H.323 uses 1719 and 1720 for signalling, dynamic ports for media.
    SIP tends to use 5060 for signalling, dynamic again for media.

    Simple port forwarding doesn't fit very well with these protocols.

    --
    Giles Chamberlin
     
    Giles Chamberlin, Aug 4, 2003
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. VOIP is a complex solution - it is running as a combination of different
    protocols: H323, H225, H245, SCCP, MGCP etc.
    Every protocol have its own port. Also if you have DMZ or firewall on path
    of the voip packet, you need to consider impact of the firewall
    to the traversing packets. And don't forget about the QoS for your network.
    Regards,
    Serge

    "True Jack" <> wrote in message
    news:...
    > What port does VOIP run at?
    >
    > For example SMTP runs on 25, FTP runs on 21.
    >
    > Is there a particular port that VOIP runs on.
    >
    > We are planning to use VOIP phones in our office, I want to do a port
    > forwarding in my router, where the VOIP traffic is automatically sent
    > to a particular IP address.
     
    serge koshelev, Aug 4, 2003
    #3
  4. True Jack

    Beep Guest

    True Jack wrote:

    > What port does VOIP run at?
    >


    It depends on which protocol you are using. For me, I have setup several
    VoIPBlaster (VB) devices + the driver and client/server software developed
    by David of Fobbit (http://fobbit.org) in my private LAN using the Linksys
    BEFSR41 Firewall+NAT router to share a broadband connection over a single
    public IP address. This software uses a non-standard handshaking protocol
    and it defaults to ports 8008 (TCP), 8009 (TCP), and 8010 (UDP). For each
    VB unit in my private LAN, I assigned ports >= 1024, i.e. 8012/3/4/5/6/7
    (TCP/UDP), so they all can place/receive calls at the same time or
    concurrently.

    > For example SMTP runs on 25, FTP runs on 21.
    >


    As I said above, I can have my VB run on any un-assigned port, even port 14.
    However, since the client program runs in a user space (on my Linux), it
    would be preferrable to choose ports >= 1024.

    > Is there a particular port that VOIP runs on.
    >


    Yes/no. Yes if you are using some specific protocol , i.e. H323, SIP, etc.
    NO if you are using a non-standard protocol, i.e. fobbit for VB.

    > We are planning to use VOIP phones in our office, I want to do a port
    > forwarding in my router, where the VOIP traffic is automatically sent
    > to a particular IP address.


    Here are some pointers that may help you out if you have not already known
    them:

    http://www.OpenH323.org
    http://www.gnuGK.org
    http://www.asterisk.org
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/fobbit or http://fobbit.org
    http://neolineas.com/wiki/showPage.yaws?node=home (for Aplio devices)

    Good luck.
     
    Beep, Aug 6, 2003
    #4
  5. True Jack

    UpsetVoipUser

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Vonage-Time Warner Cable-Linksys dropped calls VOIP

    Hello all
    I hope you can help, this ongoing problem is driving me nuts and neither Vonage, TWC or Linksys seem to be able to solve the problem.

    SOFTWARE: Windows XP SP2

    HARDWARE
    Cable Modem
    SB5101 (Motorola)

    Router
    BEFSR41 (Linksys)

    Phone Adaptor
    VT2142-VD (motorola) supplied by Vonage

    PROBLEM: Dropped calls

    The Linksys router is old, had for 8-10 years. Handles the internet with no problem but when I added Voip 4 years ago, things were not the same and they get very bad at times. Someone suggested that port forwarding was to blame but couldn't help any further.

    The Cable Modem and Phone adaptor are less than a year old and were sent to me in an effort to try and fix this problem. The cable company even came out and replaced some suspect cables outside the house.

    Yet the problem continues.

    Should I just get one of those all in one devices or is there a fix for my current configuration?

    I am not a techie.:)

    Thanks

    Steven
     
    UpsetVoipUser, Feb 9, 2008
    #5
  6. True Jack

    CableGuy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Voip Qos

    Run a packet loss test from the command prompt. Ping your cable companys default gateway, the packet loss should be 1% or less. Increase the packet size to 500 or 1024. Some companys have reduced the packet size to conserve bandwidth by adding a policy in the routers. Also do a path ping of the IP address or DNS name of the company you are using (VOIP Provider).

    1. Is your cable modem dropping offline?
    2. What are you speeds (provisioned for by the cable company)?
    3. Does you internet get slow sometimes?
    4. What are the levels on the Cable Modem?

    ping {Default Gateway} -L 500 -n 500 ( -L = Packet size & -n = Ping Count

    Access cable modem GUI on most cable modems
    http://192.168.100.1

    Jeremy

    http:/

    TWC had some Internet packages where the speeds will be to low and not have a good (QOS). Example DSL speeds or 128K Up and 512K down
     
    CableGuy, Mar 10, 2008
    #6
  7. True Jack

    Lundah

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Re: Vonage-Time Warner Cable-Linksys dropped calls VOIP


    Hate to tell you this, but I'd think about replacing the router. I had a Linksys BEFSR router as well, and had problems with VOIP calls (using Vonage) dropping a few minutes into the call. After I upgraded to a WRT54G, the problems went away. Couldn't tell you the rhyme or reason why, but it worked.
     
    Lundah, Mar 12, 2008
    #7
  8. True Jack

    itspecialist2010

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    voip

    My project required to integrate dialer
    with voice playing ability, fax detection and digit recognition

    I bought
    voipcore.com
    and that guys provide great support
     
    itspecialist2010, Sep 19, 2010
    #8
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Weiguang Shi
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    4,531
  2. FrisbeeĀ®
    Replies:
    37
    Views:
    1,148
  3. Brian Young
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    555
    Juhura Nagamichi
    May 9, 2004
  4. GS
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,443
  5. Replies:
    3
    Views:
    788
Loading...

Share This Page