Urgent Help!

Discussion in 'General Computer Support' started by J4Y, Oct 21, 2007.

1. J4Y

J4Y

Hey people, im new here, im really new to computers my self (but im not completely stupid lol) so bare with my explanation for my problem and i would be very grateful if you can help me out.

Well ive got some problems with my USB connection problem, im not sure what it is, the hub, the device, the controller? even saying that i dont really know what each mean or do, but i have been searching to find a solution to my problem but no luck :(...............

ive got a external hard drive and a external DVD/CD-RW and both use a USB 2.0 connection, i bought online from ebay and they were working fine until today. What happened was i was using my external DVD/CD-RW to burn some film on a DVD and i plugged the device into one of the USB hubs and a pop-up appeared stating unknown device, i really dont know why it stated this as it was working fine the other times, and so i went to the device manager and see whats up, and there i see, it still states "unknown device" i right clicked it and went to properties and it said "there is no driver for this device" so i was abit shocked and annoyed at this statement coz it was working fine before so how did the driver just suddenly disappear?

So i went to troubleshooting via the device manager and followed through instruction after instruction and nothing worked!, it told me to uninstall the driver and reinstall it back which i did, check the BIOS if it device manager for USB was switched on and i did that but no luck............

So then i went on the net and started searching for USB troubleshooting and arrived a page from microsoft for USB troubleshoot.