To vlan or to not vlan

Discussion in 'Cisco' started by thegmanagain, May 8, 2008.

  1. thegmanagain

    thegmanagain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Hi,

    My boss wants to separate our current single LAN into 3 distinct LANS whereby LAN1 can only see LAN3 and LAN2 can only see LAN3 also. (LAN3 houses the backup and antivirus servers).
    He wants to use different switches for each new LAN?
    I currently have 3 Dell Powerconnect 3348 switches and a 2924 Catalyst switch.

    What is the easiest way to do this?
    Do I setup a vlan on each switch connected to a single router which will route the vlan traffic?

    Thanks in advance,
    G
     
    thegmanagain, May 8, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. thegmanagain

    ninop

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Venezuela
    Ok, if you use vlan's it can be done, and you can share the vlan's thru the 3 switchs.

    first, check if the 3 switchs alow you to make 802.1Q vlan tagging. If not, the most simple option is to connect the 3 switchs to the router, each one on a different router interface. (but that wouldn't be vlan's, only hard-splitting lans)

    can you show a simple topology of your switchs? something like this, to give you a better advice:

    [switch 1] <----->[Router]<------>[Switch 2]
    </td></td>|
    </td></td>|
    [Switch 3]


    Bye!
     
    Last edited: May 9, 2008
    ninop, May 9, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. thegmanagain

    thegmanagain

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Hi,

    Thanks for your answer.

    The proposed topology might look something like this:
    [switch 1] <----->[Router 1]<------>[Switch 3]
    [switch 2] <----->[Router 1]<------>[Switch 3]

    I've checked out the switches and they all support 802.1Q vlan tagging.

    Where do I set up the vlans?

    Thanks again,
    G
     
    thegmanagain, May 13, 2008
    #3
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Paul

    VLAN or Not to VLAN

    Paul, Oct 27, 2003, in forum: Cisco
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    657
  2. Neil Rowland

    Auxiliary VLAN V VLan

    Neil Rowland, Apr 13, 2004, in forum: Cisco
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    659
    Phil Dotchon
    Apr 14, 2004
  3. PS2 gamer
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,349
    Ivan Ostres
    May 28, 2004
  4. avraham shir-el
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    8,967
    avraham shir-el
    Jul 20, 2004
  5. rahul_hotin

    VLan OR NO VLan

    rahul_hotin, Apr 26, 2005, in forum: Cisco
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    648
    Ronnie.wonderboy
    Apr 27, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page