Simple router & adapter question - help!

Discussion in 'Wireless Networking' started by mimiL, Jun 26, 2006.

1. mimiL

mimiL

I'm new to the router scene... I have DSL internet hooked up to my main PC (Windows XP) and I want to set up an older computer (Windows ME) to also get online wirelessly, however the 2nd computer does not have a wireless card installed in it - so I bought a NetGear RangeMax Wireless Router WPN824 and a NetGear Wireless Adapter WPN111 (to plug into a USB). Will this work or do I still need to install a wireless card (or whatever?) on the older computer? Don't know what to do... thanks for any help!!
    mimiL, Jun 26, 2006
    1. Advertising

2. mimiL

camilinksys

router & adapter setup

From the moment you've bought a router that's both wireless and wired (check on the back whether it has the plugs for a wired pc... if they're there) both computers should work.
    You should start by setting up the router's internet configuration; meaning you should wire your main pc to the router, and the router to the modem

modem----router----PC

once you do so, reboot the pc and access the router's web based interface (open a browser window such as internet explorer and, in the address bar type in the router's IP address: it could be 192.168.1.1 , 192.168.0.1 or even 192.168.2.1 depending on the brand. find out on your user's manual).

generally you will be asked for a password --this should be " admin " and there would be no user name, but again: check that in the router's instructions.

once you see the interface, select your internet connection type (DSL is generally PPPoE) and type in your username and password your provider's given you.

save the settings and this should do for the internet working wirelessly.