pix 501 password reset issue

Discussion in 'Cisco' started by mw6sense, Feb 9, 2006.

  1. mw6sense

    mw6sense Guest

    I'm a newbie to PIX and I just acquired a pix 501 with os 6.3 from ebay. I don't
    have the password for the 501 and like to reset it.
    So I tried the following procedures:

    ..Copy np63.bin to c drive of my pc
    ..Connect the pc to the 501 on port 1 via ethernet and console cable
    ..initial Esc at power up.
    ..Monitor> interface 1
    ..Monitor> address 192.168.1.199
    ..Monitor> Server 192.168.1.150 (my pc's ip address)
    ..Monitor>file np62.bin
    ..Monitor>tftp
    ..Monitor>tftp np62.bin@192.168.1.150
    ..there was not prompt to say yes to download

    I tried to ping the pix and got no reply and ping from the pix to the pc and
    also got no response.

    Do I have a bad 501?

    Any suggestion is appreciated.
     
    mw6sense, Feb 9, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. mw6sense

    Garrett Guest

    Don't forget to have a TFTP server running!

    it doesn't copy from your C-Drive natively.

    _Garrett_


    mw6sense wrote:

    > I'm a newbie to PIX and I just acquired a pix 501 with os 6.3 from ebay. I
    > don't have the password for the 501 and like to reset it.
    > So I tried the following procedures:
    >
    > .Copy np63.bin to c drive of my pc
    > .Connect the pc to the 501 on port 1 via ethernet and console cable
    > .initial Esc at power up.
    > .Monitor> interface 1
    > .Monitor> address 192.168.1.199
    > .Monitor> Server 192.168.1.150 (my pc's ip address)
    > .Monitor>file np62.bin
    > .Monitor>tftp
    > .Monitor>tftp np62.bin@192.168.1.150
    > .there was not prompt to say yes to download
    >
    > I tried to ping the pix and got no reply and ping from the pix to the pc
    > and also got no response.
    >
    > Do I have a bad 501?
    >
    > Any suggestion is appreciated.
     
    Garrett, Feb 9, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. you say your PIXOS is 6.3, and uses a np62 ?!
    You need np63.bin if your PIX is 6.3

    "mw6sense" <> wrote in message
    news:...
    > I'm a newbie to PIX and I just acquired a pix 501 with os 6.3 from ebay. I

    don't
    > have the password for the 501 and like to reset it.
    > So I tried the following procedures:
    >
    > .Copy np63.bin to c drive of my pc
    > .Connect the pc to the 501 on port 1 via ethernet and console cable
    > .initial Esc at power up.
    > .Monitor> interface 1
    > .Monitor> address 192.168.1.199
    > .Monitor> Server 192.168.1.150 (my pc's ip address)
    > .Monitor>file np62.bin
    > .Monitor>tftp
    > .Monitor>tftp np62.bin@192.168.1.150
    > .there was not prompt to say yes to download
    >
    > I tried to ping the pix and got no reply and ping from the pix to the pc

    and
    > also got no response.
    >
    > Do I have a bad 501?
    >
    > Any suggestion is appreciated.
    >
     
    Martin Bilgrav, Feb 9, 2006
    #3
  4. mw6sense

    mw6sense Guest

    actually, i am using np63.bin and as far as tftp server. I am using my windows
    server 2003 to communicate with the pix. I've already enabled the telnet
    service. Which other service do I need to enable?

    thanks

    In article <hqNGf.6634$2net.dk>, Martin Bilgrav says...
    >
    >you say your PIXOS is 6.3, and uses a np62 ?!
    >You need np63.bin if your PIX is 6.3
    >
    >"mw6sense" <> wrote in message
    >news:...
    >> I'm a newbie to PIX and I just acquired a pix 501 with os 6.3 from ebay. I

    >don't
    >> have the password for the 501 and like to reset it.
    >> So I tried the following procedures:
    >>
    >> .Copy np63.bin to c drive of my pc
    >> .Connect the pc to the 501 on port 1 via ethernet and console cable
    >> .initial Esc at power up.
    >> .Monitor> interface 1
    >> .Monitor> address 192.168.1.199
    >> .Monitor> Server 192.168.1.150 (my pc's ip address)
    >> .Monitor>file np62.bin
    >> .Monitor>tftp
    >> .Monitor>tftp np62.bin@192.168.1.150
    >> .there was not prompt to say yes to download
    >>
    >> I tried to ping the pix and got no reply and ping from the pix to the pc

    >and
    >> also got no response.
    >>
    >> Do I have a bad 501?
    >>
    >> Any suggestion is appreciated.
    >>

    >
    >
     
    mw6sense, Feb 10, 2006
    #4
  5. mw6sense

    Garrett Guest

    Did you get this solved?

    -Garrett


    mw6sense wrote:

    > actually, i am using np63.bin and as far as tftp server. I am using my
    > windows
    > server 2003 to communicate with the pix. I've already enabled the telnet
    > service. Which other service do I need to enable?
    >
    > thanks
    >
    > In article <hqNGf.6634$2net.dk>, Martin Bilgrav says...
    >>
    >>you say your PIXOS is 6.3, and uses a np62 ?!
    >>You need np63.bin if your PIX is 6.3
    >>
    >>"mw6sense" <> wrote in message
    >>news:...
    >>> I'm a newbie to PIX and I just acquired a pix 501 with os 6.3 from ebay.
    >>> I

    >>don't
    >>> have the password for the 501 and like to reset it.
    >>> So I tried the following procedures:
    >>>
    >>> .Copy np63.bin to c drive of my pc
    >>> .Connect the pc to the 501 on port 1 via ethernet and console cable
    >>> .initial Esc at power up.
    >>> .Monitor> interface 1
    >>> .Monitor> address 192.168.1.199
    >>> .Monitor> Server 192.168.1.150 (my pc's ip address)
    >>> .Monitor>file np62.bin
    >>> .Monitor>tftp
    >>> .Monitor>tftp np62.bin@192.168.1.150
    >>> .there was not prompt to say yes to download
    >>>
    >>> I tried to ping the pix and got no reply and ping from the pix to the pc

    >>and
    >>> also got no response.
    >>>
    >>> Do I have a bad 501?
    >>>
    >>> Any suggestion is appreciated.
    >>>

    >>
    >>
     
    Garrett, Feb 10, 2006
    #5
  6. mw6sense

    jsh3323 Guest

    I don't believe Windows has a native tftp server and running a telnet
    server is not applicable to this scenario. You'll need to install a
    tftp server, search the web for pumpkin or solarwinds, each has a free
    tftp server. Install one of them, make sure it is configured to send
    files, also note the default tftp directory used by the software. Your
    ..bin file will need to reside in this directory.

    As far as pinging is concerned, don't worry about it unless your tftp
    transfer still fails. If it does fail, make sure your Windows box is
    not running any kind of firewall software that blocks pings/icmp and
    tftp requests (Port 69). From your post it looks like your Windows box
    and the PIX interface are on the same local network. Drop down to layer
    2 and make sure you see an arp reso for the pix on your Windows box. At
    a command line ping the pix, after the ping fails issue the command arp
    -a you should see the pix's IP and corresponding MAC address. Also make
    sure the IP address you assigned the pix is not being used by another
    box on the network.
     
    jsh3323, Feb 10, 2006
    #6
  7. mw6sense

    Robert Guest

    Download and install TFTP server and go

    Robert
     
    Robert, Feb 10, 2006
    #7
  8. mw6sense

    mw6sense Guest

    No. I also tried to reset the pix from a laptop with XP home and still
    get the same result. Please below. thanks




    CISCO SYSTEMS PIX-501
    Embedded BIOS Version 4.3.200 07/31/01 15:58:22.08
    Compiled by morlee
    16 MB RAM

    PCI Device Table.
    Bus Dev Func VendID DevID Class Irq
    00 00 00 1022 3000 Host Bridge
    00 11 00 8086 1209 Ethernet 9
    00 12 00 8086 1209 Ethernet 10

    Cisco Secure PIX Firewall BIOS (4.2) #6: Mon Aug 27 15:09:54 PDT 2001
    Platform PIX-501
    Flash=E28F640J3 @ 0x3000000

    Use BREAK or ESC to interrupt flash boot.
    Use SPACE to begin flash boot immediately.
    Flash boot interrupted.
    0: i8255X @ PCI(bus:0 dev:17 irq:9 )
    1: i8255X @ PCI(bus:0 dev:18 irq:10)

    Using 1: i82557 @ PCI(bus:0 dev:18 irq:10), MAC: 000e.846c.95f2
    Use ? for help.
    monitor> interface 1
    0: i8255X @ PCI(bus:0 dev:17 irq:9 )
    1: i8255X @ PCI(bus:0 dev:18 irq:10)

    Using 1: i82557 @ PCI(bus:0 dev:18 irq:10), MAC: 000e.846c.95f2
    monitor> address 192.168.1.168
    address 192.168.1.168
    monitor> server 192.168.1.133
    server 192.168.1.133
    monitor> file np63.bin
    file np63.bin
    monitor> tftp
    tftp np63.bin@192.168.1.133
    n article <>, Garrett says...
    >
    >
    >Did you get this solved?
    >
    >-Garrett
    >
    >
    >mw6sense wrote:
    >
    >> actually, i am using np63.bin and as far as tftp server. I am using my
    >> windows
    >> server 2003 to communicate with the pix. I've already enabled the telnet
    >> service. Which other service do I need to enable?
    >>
    >> thanks
    >>
    >> In article <hqNGf.6634$2net.dk>, Martin Bilgrav says...
    >>>
    >>>you say your PIXOS is 6.3, and uses a np62 ?!
    >>>You need np63.bin if your PIX is 6.3
    >>>
    >>>"mw6sense" <> wrote in message
    >>>news:...
    >>>> I'm a newbie to PIX and I just acquired a pix 501 with os 6.3 from ebay.
    >>>> I
    >>>don't
    >>>> have the password for the 501 and like to reset it.
    >>>> So I tried the following procedures:
    >>>>
    >>>> .Copy np63.bin to c drive of my pc
    >>>> .Connect the pc to the 501 on port 1 via ethernet and console cable
    >>>> .initial Esc at power up.
    >>>> .Monitor> interface 1
    >>>> .Monitor> address 192.168.1.199
    >>>> .Monitor> Server 192.168.1.150 (my pc's ip address)
    >>>> .Monitor>file np62.bin
    >>>> .Monitor>tftp
    >>>> .Monitor>tftp np62.bin@192.168.1.150
    >>>> .there was not prompt to say yes to download
    >>>>
    >>>> I tried to ping the pix and got no reply and ping from the pix to the pc
    >>>and
    >>>> also got no response.
    >>>>
    >>>> Do I have a bad 501?
    >>>>
    >>>> Any suggestion is appreciated.
    >>>>
    >>>
    >>>

    >
     
    mw6sense, Feb 10, 2006
    #8
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Andre
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    789
    Andre
    Feb 20, 2005
  2. Ian McKellan

    How to reset a PIX 501

    Ian McKellan, Mar 17, 2006, in forum: Cisco
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    22,856
    Walter Roberson
    Mar 17, 2006
  3. Philipp Flesch
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    4,824
    Philipp Flesch
    Jun 18, 2006
  4. PIX 501 password reset

    , Sep 8, 2006, in forum: Cisco
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    6,178
    www.BradReese.Com
    Sep 8, 2006
  5. passwings
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    2,017
    nimd4
    Nov 17, 2011
Loading...

Share This Page