Need some advice and opinions

Discussion in 'MCSD' started by MJBrown, Nov 5, 2003.

1. MJBrown

MJBrown Guest

My situation currently (and this is long...):

I have been in Helpdesk/Customer Support for about 6 years now and at a IT helpdesk (supported employees of AOL/Netscape) for the last 2 of those 6 years. I have a total of about 10 years experience in PC's and OS's. I have some experience in networking/system admin and allot of experience in PC Support for both hardware and software. I can build a system (very easy, I think), troubleshoot any PC (and Mac) issue and able to resolve said issue.

I was thinking of going for MCSE certs but I have noticed that allot of those with MCSE certs are paid less (compared to programming) or just unemployed or is this the same on both sides of the fence? (Oh, also not counting the bad economy). There also seems to be allot of "paper" MCSE's that have really ruined the credibility of the MCSE cert and ruined its appeal to me. I also don't like helpdesk work anymore, I don't like talking to people on the phone and I would much rather deal with a computer and its issues then another person's issues with the computer.

Because of this I was thinking of pursuing a change of career into programming and was looking at the MCSD cert to have something to show that I know what im doing. The issue is, I have no current experience in programming like I do in hardware/networking.

I was wondering if I would be able to get the books, study for the tests and get the MCSD cert with no experience in the software programming side of things?

Would I know enough to get at least an entry-level job doing something to get more experience?

I was also wondering if there is an in between that would be good for my situation that delves into networking/system admin and programming?

If I go for the change into programming, the MCSD.net splits the languages up into Visual Basic .net and Visual C# .net.