linking 2 VLANs on one switch

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by rezalas, Jan 21, 2008.

  1. rezalas

    rezalas

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    I have two VLANs configured on one switch and I would like to get them communicating with eachother without having to use a router. I believe I need some form of trunking perhaps, but I'm not quite sure how to get it working (its been years since I had to do this last time). My switch is a cisco 3500 series inline power switch. config follows:

    Code:
    interface VLAN1
     ip address 192.168.142.48 255.255.255.0
     ip directed-broadcast
     ip security dedicated unclassified genser
     ip security strip
     no ip route-cache
     shutdown
    !
    interface VLAN2
     ip address 192.168.143.1 255.255.255.0
     ip directed-broadcast
     ip security dedicated unclassified genser
     ip security strip
     no ip route-cache
    !
    !
    line con 0
     transport input none
     stopbits 1
    line vty 5 15
    !
    end
    
    VLAN Name                             Status    Ports
    ---- -------------------------------- --------- -------------------------------
    1    default                          active    Fa0/2, Fa0/4, Fa0/6, Fa0/8,
                                                    Fa0/10, Fa0/11, Fa0/12, Fa0/13,
                                                    Fa0/14, Fa0/15, Fa0/16, Fa0/17,
                                                    Fa0/18, Fa0/19, Fa0/20, Fa0/21,
                                                    Fa0/22, Fa0/23, Fa0/24, Gi0/1,
                                                    Gi0/2
    2    VLAN2                            active    Fa0/1, Fa0/3, Fa0/5, Fa0/7,
                                                    Fa0/9
    1002 fddi-default                     active
    1003 token-ring-default               active
    1004 fddinet-default                  active
    1005 trnet-default                    active
    
    VLAN Type  SAID       MTU   Parent RingNo BridgeNo Stp  BrdgMode Trans1 Trans2
    ---- ----- ---------- ----- ------ ------ -------- ---- -------- ------ ------
    1    enet  100001     1500  -      -      -        -    -        1002   1003
    2    enet  100002     1500  -      -      -        -    -        0      0
    1002 fddi  101002     1500  -      -      -        -    -        1      1003
    1003 tr    101003     1500  1005   0      -        -    srb      1      1002
    1004 fdnet 101004     1500  -      -      1        ibm  -        0      0
    1005 trnet 101005     1500  -      -      1        ibm  -        0      0
    
    
    rezalas, Jan 21, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. rezalas

    asadimam

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Hi...
    first u no shut Vlan-1

    switch(Conf-vlan1)#no shut

    And,

    U should use the command ip routing on global config mode.

    Plz. let me know after configuration.

    Regds.
    Asad

    asadimam, Jan 22, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. rezalas

    rezalas

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    For some reason no shut does not activate VLAN1. That vlan stays constantly in shutdown mode as long as I have VLAN2 it seems. Any advice?
    rezalas, Jan 22, 2008
    #3
  4. rezalas

    mabooali

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    VLAN 1 is for managemnet only and by default is enabled and has access to the whole switch fabris. not a good idea to use it. security complecations!

    just create vlan 2 and vlan 3, no shut on each interface and U should be good to go.

    HTH

    Thx,

    Masood
    mabooali, May 17, 2008
    #4
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. gene martinez

    2900 switch & vlans

    gene martinez, Nov 8, 2003, in forum: Cisco
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    470
    Walter Roberson
    Nov 9, 2003
  2. Peter Rowe
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    524
    Peter Rowe
    Nov 17, 2003
  3. prosthetic head
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    3,555
    Hansang Bae
    Mar 5, 2004
  4. ilya@3ka.mipt.ru
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    565
    ilya@3ka.mipt.ru
    Jan 11, 2005
  5. punisher
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,076
    Charles Deling
    Nov 17, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page