It's Got Issues :(

Discussion in 'Software' started by XhArD, Dec 17, 2005.

  1. XhArD

    XhArD

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    My computer is rooted :( MSN, Limewire and uTorrent are all unusable. They just won't connect, like my firewall is blocking them. I've tried allowing them through, disabling firewall, pretty much everything I could think of. It started last night. I left my computer on downloading from torrent. It was all good, downloading fine, then when I got abck to it this morning, it has the Limewire warning about having lost connection, and it hangs. I reset it, get back into windows, and MSN Limewire and uTorrent are rooted :( What's wrong with it?!? I can't do a system restore, it just says "unable to complete system restore" without telling me why. I can't install Service Pack 2, it just says "installation could not be completed." Anyone got any idea what's wrong with it?
    XhArD, Dec 17, 2005
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. XhArD

    unholy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,899
    Location:
    Australia
    its time to format my friend. welcome to the world of windows computing :D

    i can tell u how to keep ur torrents when formatting :D
    unholy, Dec 17, 2005
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. XhArD

    The Modfather

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,424
    By rooted, do you mean rootkit hacked?

    Have you put any CD's in your computer on the Sony lable recently? There's a major exploit on a lot of Sony CD's (Music) that actually installs a rootkit on your machine without your knowledge and hackers have been exploiting it. Sony's recalled those CD's but, bit fat lot of help that does now. I hate the RIAA and those damned companies!
    The Modfather, Dec 17, 2005
    #3
  4. XhArD

    XhArD

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    I know about the sony DRM software legal war, but by rooted, I meant royally f***ed up. I know I could format easily, but I'm in the middle of downloading about 6GB worth of videos and DVD rips, and I'd lose them because I don't have the torrent anymore :(
    XhArD, Dec 17, 2005
    #4
  5. XhArD

    The Modfather

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,424
    Um, well, er, dunno what to tell ya then, if yer f***ed up then you're f***ed up, reformat, learn to make backups and pray real hard. I hate that kinda crap.
    The Modfather, Dec 17, 2005
    #5
  6. XhArD

    XhArD

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    Learn to make backups? I do, do you expect me to back up 1/4 of a downloaded file? Anyway, I'll be formatting tomorrow if I get around to it.
    XhArD, Dec 17, 2005
    #6
  7. XhArD

    unholy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,899
    Location:
    Australia
    you can get the torrents, from utorrents torrent directory. or somewhere in ur windows user files (c:\document and setting\...) and copy the current files u have nilly finished downloading, Azerues has a porting system but ur using utorrent, when u go to re install utorrent, re load in the torrents first, then let them create there files and exit and replace them, i have done it, is normally checks verificiation, test it first :D

    I should be up early tomorrow, if not u can ring and i should get up, after all 25c : 10GB :| seems quite an idea :D
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2005
    unholy, Dec 17, 2005
    #7
  8. XhArD

    XhArD

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    WTF dudes? It fixed itself. Came to it this morning, and MSN signs in and people start talking to me :|
    XhArD, Dec 20, 2005
    #8
  9. XhArD

    unholy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,899
    Location:
    Australia
    i feel this has something to do with the force my young jedi.

    wait no the force doesn't stuff computers up...

    hey have u got anything odd net to ur computer. like has u got a huge ass amp or something near ur hdd. it could have been dogdy up something. (not saying it did)
    unholy, Dec 20, 2005
    #9
  10. XhArD

    XhArD

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    No, nothing near it... Realised what happened though. AVG updated itself this morning when I started computer, problem solved. I'd tried to update it 2 days ago but there were no updates so I couldn't fix whatever was rooting it up.
    XhArD, Dec 20, 2005
    #10
  11. XhArD

    unholy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,899
    Location:
    Australia
    yes but doesn't explain why, what could u have downloaded that may have stuff something up?
    unholy, Dec 20, 2005
    #11
  12. XhArD

    XhArD

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    Torrent movies and pr0n. But that couldn't be it, could it? :p
    XhArD, Dec 20, 2005
    #12
  13. XhArD

    The Modfather

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,424
    Hahahaaha, no, that's NEVER it. :)
    The Modfather, Dec 20, 2005
    #13
  14. XhArD

    XhArD

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    That's what I keep saying, but no one believes me :(
    XhArD, Dec 20, 2005
    #14
  15. XhArD

    unholy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,899
    Location:
    Australia
    I reckon hey. Nah man what site u get the pr0n from, just random html, or torrent?
    unholy, Dec 20, 2005
    #15
  16. XhArD

    XhArD

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    Sometimes torrent, but on A07 it has a list of downloaders, and my bro uses A07 :p But meh, I don't really care, sometimes from torrent and sometimes from other sites.
    XhArD, Dec 20, 2005
    #16
  17. XhArD

    unholy

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,899
    Location:
    Australia
    i see, there be ur case :)
    unholy, Dec 20, 2005
    #17
  18. XhArD

    The Modfather

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,424
    You were serious? Oh man...

    I got issues #34-104, I'm cool. I got issues too. :)
    The Modfather, Dec 21, 2005
    #18
  19. XhArD

    XhArD

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    1,709
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    Yeah, I know how much damage it can cause, which is why I generally use the familys computer for that, and my computer for everything else :p I just got sick of having to use that slow ass piece of crap, so I gradually turned mine into a slow piece of crap until everything stopped working :p
    XhArD, Dec 21, 2005
    #19
  20. XhArD

    The Modfather

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,424
    That's never a good idea. I don't download anything I am not 100% sure of and even then I get hit enough that it drives me nuts. I let my dad play around with that stuff, his computer, a 3.2GHz machine, runs like a freakin' IBM PCjr. on 'ludes. It's slow as hell. He just reformatted his drive today, we'll see if that helps at all.
    The Modfather, Dec 21, 2005
    #20
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. =?iso-8859-1?Q?Frisbee=AE?=

    SNMP Issues in Cisco Routers; Vulnerability Issues in TCP

    =?iso-8859-1?Q?Frisbee=AE?=, Apr 21, 2004, in forum: MCSE
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    785
    =?iso-8859-1?Q?Frisbee=AE?=
    Apr 21, 2004
  2. pcbutts1
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    580
    pcbutts1
    Jul 6, 2005
  3. pcbutts1
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    762
    pcbutts1
    Jul 6, 2005
  4. Howie
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    550
    Howie
    Jul 6, 2005
  5. Howie
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    4,858
    pcbutts1
    Jul 12, 2005
Loading...

Share This Page