ISP for responsible "power user"?

Discussion in 'Computer Information' started by ldfishel@yahoo.com, Apr 16, 2014.

1. Guest

Forgive me if this is not an appropriate group...

I will try to stifle the torrent of rants I have built up[ and try to keep this under 100 pages:

I would not call myself an "expert" on networking, but I am a programmer who generally prefers to do most things in Linux. I can do a reasonable job of administering a network and I own my own domain name.

I've stuck with my local phone company as an ISP for many years as they've gone further and further down the road of catering to the lowest common denominator, because they have the manpower to get out and fix things quickly when there's a problem they didn't cause intentionally.

Now it's gotten to where they block port 25, both directions (been that wayfor a while, I'm loath to even try to explain to their techs why I might want it open, let alone try to get them to actually do it), their supported modems have removed any port forwarding configuration ability, and to activate my new modem when the old one fried itself (this failure was insignificant in itself) and they gave me a new modem for free within hours). Their web site made me use the latest-and-greatest Internet Explorer (ack! Windows, couldn't it with Linux OR Mac) just to type in a couple of text fields. Icould have done that with a friggin' TRS-80 for phlegm's sake!