Cisco Switchport VLAN Questions

Discussion in 'Cisco' started by RAS, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. RAS

    RAS

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    I am trying to help a friend of mine with a VLAn issue. He sent me a config on a piece of paper, so I dont have access to the switch. His issue is there is no connectivity. Most of the ports looks like this:

    interface GigabitEthernet2/1
    switchport access vlan 200
    switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q
    switchport trunk allowed vlan 1-99,101-299,301-399,401-499,501-599,601-699
    switchport trunk allowed vlan add 701-4094

    The VLANs listed are
    vlan 1-3,100,127,200,300,400,500,600,700

    I think the issue is that the because the switchport access vlan 200 is there it is allowing the port to be a access port and not a trunk port. Is this correct? Or how do I fix the issue.
    RAS, Oct 22, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. RAS

    sdunn96

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    If you are doing trunking between switches,
    Then I think you do want to get rid of switchport access vlan 200
    and do a switch port mode trunk

    Also VTP has to be enabled.
    sdunn96, Nov 5, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. RAS

    kirandeepmittal

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    India
    Hi RAS,

    In the configuration providid by you the switch port is configured to be an access port not as a trunkport. You need to add the command switchport mode trunk on the interface
    kirandeepmittal, Nov 23, 2010
    #3
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. BernieM
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    576
    BernieM
    Jan 25, 2006
  2. Ned
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    61,380
  3. lowfell1
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    4,990
    thort
    Sep 26, 2007
  4. xianli@xianli.net

    port channel, switchport trunk allowed vlan

    xianli@xianli.net, Mar 12, 2008, in forum: Cisco
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    12,915
    xianli@xianli.net
    Mar 12, 2008
  5. paul1537
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,640
    paul1537
    May 15, 2008
Loading...

Share This Page