Cisco: How to configure ?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by StanVisual, Dec 4, 2011.

  1. StanVisual

    StanVisual

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Hey, how to configure DNS and HTTP(web) in a Cisco Router?

    thanks :)
    StanVisual, Dec 4, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. StanVisual

    StanVisual

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    any help guys?
    StanVisual, Dec 6, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. StanVisual

    goodswitch

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    The first step in router start DNS service.

    R1 # conf t

    R1 (config) # IP DNS server

    The second step, we need on a router configuration of the public domain name server, this setting can make router for "recursive type" DNS query. In other words, when the router to receiving each workstation request, the router will by asking more DNS server, will eventually results feedback to send request workstations.

    R1 (config) # IP name-server 4.2.2.5

    R1 (config) # IP name-server 4.2.2.6

    Cisco router IOS allows you to set up six different DNS server. Usually, you will set the cost to service provider of the DNS server addresses to ensure fast response; Then configuration some free public DNS server address, so that you can configure by local ISP or public DNS server to get response.

    The third step, DNS server configuration of the local user name and IP address mapping. After the completion of the set, when Alan PC trying to connect the ping or Wayne PC, the router will succeed his netbios name analytical to the appropriate IP address. Configuration is as follows:

    R1 (config) # IP host Alan 192.168.1.10

    R1 (config) # IP host John 192.168.1.11

    R1 (config) # IP host Wayne 192.168.1.12
    goodswitch, Dec 14, 2011
    #3
  4. StanVisual

    sagitheron

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Did you really refer to ..... John Wayn, lol.

    That really made my day!
    sagitheron, Jun 11, 2012
    #4
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Walter Roberson
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,585
    DC Gringo
    Jul 18, 2003
  2. Edward Chalk

    configure cisco 827 as bridge

    Edward Chalk, Jul 24, 2003, in forum: Cisco
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,841
    Walter Roberson
    Jul 24, 2003
  3. jonny
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    459
    jonny
    Nov 28, 2003
  4. jonny
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    497
    jonny
    Nov 28, 2003
  5. me@privacy.net
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    466
    me@privacy.net
    Dec 14, 2003
Loading...

Share This Page