Cisco 2950 switch VLAN problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Slava, May 19, 2009.

  1. Slava

    Slava

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Hello everybody,
    Here little problem with configuration of 2950
    I created two VLAN's 10 and 20, VLAN 1 default get IP from DHCP server on router 851w.
    When i trying set vlan 10 or 20 no shutdown command it some reason allow only one vlan in up state and another two to administratively down ??????
    I tried set static IP too.
    Vlan1 unassigned YES NVRAM up up

    Vlan10 unassigned YES NVRAM administratively down down

    Vlan20 unassigned YES NVRAM administratively down down

    FastEthernet0/1 unassigned YES unset down down

    FastEthernet0/2 unassigned YES unset down down

    FastEthernet0/3 unassigned YES unset down down

    FastEthernet0/4 unassigned YES unset up up

    FastEthernet0/5 unassigned YES unset down down

    FastEthernet0/6 unassigned YES unset down down

    FastEthernet0/7 unassigned YES unset down down

    FastEthernet0/8 unassigned YES unset up up

    --More--


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Switch#config t
    Enter configuration commands, one per line. End with CNTL/Z.
    Switch(config)#int vlan 10
    Switch(config-if)#no shutdown
    Switch(config-if)#
    02:23:55: %LINK-3-UPDOWN: Interface Vlan10, changed state to up
    Switch(config-if)#02:23:55: %LINK-5-CHANGED: Interface Vlan1, changed state to administratively down 02:23:56: %LINEPROTO-5-UPDOWN: Line protocol on Interface Vlan1, changed state to down
    Switch(config-if)#
    Thank you in advance!!!!!!!
     
    Slava, May 19, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. Slava

    d_mito

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Hello!

    Only one VLAN can be in UP state on this model of Catalyst.
    It is just not supported to work with more VLANS at the same time.
    You will find them working on Catalyst 3550 for example.

    Regards.
     
    d_mito, Jul 14, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. Slava

    Akilla21

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Wiesbaden, Germany
    Another option would be for you to see if you router can do sub-interfaces. In which you would need that anyway to pass more than one vlan across the trunk.

    If you can create sub-interfaces on the router, this will allow you to have the L3 int for the vlans you want. On the switch go into the vlan database and create the vlans there.

    Make the one your interfaces be trunk and allow all vlans to pass. On the interfaces they will simply be client vlan connections.

    This will allow you segregate your client/user connections. Remember Router on a stick method.

    I had an attachement for this lesson, but the system doesn't allow a file bigger than 20K. Goto https:learningnetwork.cisco.com/thread/2401 and find Shane Killians blog, you will see a pdf that gives details on how to create the router on a stick method.

    They are using GNS3, but this can also be done in packet tracer and works that best there. If your router setup is production, I would recommend labing it up first.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2010
    Akilla21, Nov 4, 2010
    #3
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Edward Voermans

    PIX 515 and Switch 2950 VLAN

    Edward Voermans, Feb 27, 2005, in forum: Cisco
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    9,997
    Edward Voermans
    Mar 2, 2005
  2. mohitbakre
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,352
    www.BradReese.Com
    Dec 10, 2006
  3. Tacobell
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    4,631
  4. pacmas72@gmail.com

    cisco switch 2950, vlan and dhcp scope

    pacmas72@gmail.com, Mar 11, 2008, in forum: Cisco
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    12,336
    News Reader
    Mar 17, 2008
  5. RG
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,317
Loading...

Share This Page