Check out this Enermax 1000 Watt PSU review

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by bigal, Oct 30, 2006.

1. bigal

bigal

All of you guys should read the excellent review of the Enermax 1KW PSU at this link: http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=310&type=expert&pid=1 . This guy that did the review really has his act together and knows how to take measurements with proper equipment. I only wish I had the money to configure a similar test setup. :veryprou:

Unholy - please note that he also built a PSU load tester.

bigal, Oct 30, 2006
    1. Advertising

2. bigal

joaquim

Well that article was interesting from a "audio amp designers" point of view... I've never seen that formula PF = True Watts / Volt Amp, the problem is too get the "true watt" measurement. I've been designing audio and radio(AF/RF) amp's since I was ten... and during my ten years as an amateur(from that I was ten to I was done with my Master degree in Electronic Engineering) and my twenty as an Engineer I've never been able too build, or buy a test equipment that is 100% accurate in measuring Watt! Watt or P is the factor of volt times ampere. What the author of this article claims to be "True power", is what he has measured as some kind of efficiency. And called that "pf", or power factor. Well it's one way of doing it, and it might be relative accurate. When we(I) measure r.m.s power hadling, say in a B-class amplifier, you use a dummy-load, and when the amplifiers amp stops climbing, maximum has been reached, and the voltage start to fall, then you know its limit!