C3500XL Boot Loader

Discussion in 'Cisco' started by David Henzler, Apr 20, 2009.

  1. C3500XL Boot Loader (C3500-HBOOT-M) Version 12.0(5.3)WC(1),
    MAINTENANCE INTERIM SOFTWARE
    Compiled Mon 30-Apr-01 07:51 by devgoyal

    vs

    C3500XL Boot Loader (C3500-HBOOT-M) Version 12.0(5.2)XU,
    MAINTENANCE INTERIM SOFTWARE
    Compiled Mon 17-Jul-00 18:42 by ayounes


    Any issues that I should know about... one version over the other ?

    Running flash:c3500xl-c3h2s-mz.120-5.WC8.bin in both units

    Is there any way to clear the old settings and got to factory default?

    Regards

    D
     
    David Henzler, Apr 20, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. David Henzler <> writes:
    >C3500XL Boot Loader (C3500-HBOOT-M) Version 12.0(5.3)WC(1),
    >MAINTENANCE INTERIM SOFTWARE
    >Compiled Mon 30-Apr-01 07:51 by devgoyal


    >vs


    >C3500XL Boot Loader (C3500-HBOOT-M) Version 12.0(5.2)XU,
    >MAINTENANCE INTERIM SOFTWARE
    >Compiled Mon 17-Jul-00 18:42 by ayounes



    >Any issues that I should know about... one version over the other ?


    There would be none. The job of the boot loader is to get the normal
    image loaded and running. If it does that task, you are all set.

    There could be tiny bugs in the way it interacts with the user that
    they decide to update the boot loader, but I believe on that switch,
    its not in-field flashable anyway. Whichever version it has is totally
    fine, and once its handed off to IOS, it doesn't matter what it used
    to be, only IOS is active then.


    >Running flash:c3500xl-c3h2s-mz.120-5.WC8.bin in both units


    >Is there any way to clear the old settings and got to factory default?



    delete flash:vlan.dat
    write erase
    reboot
     
    Doug McIntyre, Apr 20, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. On Mon, 20 Apr 2009 18:22:07 +0000, Doug McIntyre wrote:

    > David Henzler <> writes:
    >>C3500XL Boot Loader (C3500-HBOOT-M) Version 12.0(5.3)WC(1), MAINTENANCE
    >>INTERIM SOFTWARE
    >>Compiled Mon 30-Apr-01 07:51 by devgoyal

    >
    >>vs

    >
    >>C3500XL Boot Loader (C3500-HBOOT-M) Version 12.0(5.2)XU, MAINTENANCE
    >>INTERIM SOFTWARE
    >>Compiled Mon 17-Jul-00 18:42 by ayounes

    >
    >
    >>Any issues that I should know about... one version over the other ?

    >
    > There would be none. The job of the boot loader is to get the normal image
    > loaded and running. If it does that task, you are all set.
    >
    > There could be tiny bugs in the way it interacts with the user that they
    > decide to update the boot loader, but I believe on that switch, its not
    > in-field flashable anyway. Whichever version it has is totally fine, and
    > once its handed off to IOS, it doesn't matter what it used to be, only IOS
    > is active then.
    >
    >
    >>Running flash:c3500xl-c3h2s-mz.120-5.WC8.bin in both units

    >
    >>Is there any way to clear the old settings and got to factory default?

    >
    >
    > delete flash:vlan.dat
    > write erase
    > reboot


    Thanks for the information...

    The vlan.dat file was not there. However there is some 10net addresses
    and some other references from it's history when I do "show tech".

    I'd just like to configure it to have portfast off, and all the ports set
    for full duplex fast ethernet.

    At the moment some of the ports don't show up. When I first got the unit
    it only showed 24 ports, last night 37, and who knows... maybe I'll
    eventually get all 48. It seems to be ok, but some setting may exist that
    limits what is available.

    If anyone knows the answer... please let me know.

    Regards

    David Henzler
     
    David Henzler, Apr 20, 2009
    #3
  4. David Henzler <> writes:
    >The vlan.dat file was not there. However there is some 10net addresses
    >and some other references from it's history when I do "show tech".


    The vlan.dat file is used to store info in the 'vlan database'
    command. This switch doesn't (yet) have it integrated into the IOS
    config as in newer hardware.

    All the other stuff should go away after a write erase and reboot.

    >I'd just like to configure it to have portfast off, and all the ports set
    >for full duplex fast ethernet.


    >At the moment some of the ports don't show up. When I first got the unit
    >it only showed 24 ports, last night 37, and who knows... maybe I'll
    >eventually get all 48. It seems to be ok, but some setting may exist that
    >limits what is available.


    Sounds like you have bad hardware? The only reason ports don't show up
    is that they aren't scanned during POST, and failed out or something.
     
    Doug McIntyre, Apr 20, 2009
    #4
  5. On Mon, 20 Apr 2009 19:37:06 +0000, Doug McIntyre wrote:

    > David Henzler <> writes:
    >>The vlan.dat file was not there. However there is some 10net addresses
    >>and some other references from it's history when I do "show tech".

    >
    > The vlan.dat file is used to store info in the 'vlan database' command.
    > This switch doesn't (yet) have it integrated into the IOS config as in
    > newer hardware.
    >
    > All the other stuff should go away after a write erase and reboot.
    >
    >>I'd just like to configure it to have portfast off, and all the ports set
    >>for full duplex fast ethernet.

    >
    >>At the moment some of the ports don't show up. When I first got the unit
    >>it only showed 24 ports, last night 37, and who knows... maybe I'll
    >>eventually get all 48. It seems to be ok, but some setting may exist
    >>that limits what is available.

    >
    > Sounds like you have bad hardware? The only reason ports don't show up is
    > that they aren't scanned during POST, and failed out or something.


    This looks pretty normal don't you think?

    C3500XL Boot Loader (C3500-HBOOT-M) Version 12.0(5.2)XU, MAINTENANCE INTERIM SOFTWARE
    Compiled Mon 17-Jul-00 18:42 by ayounes
    starting...
    Base ethernet MAC Address: 00:04:27:ff:73:80
    Xmodem file system is available.
    Initializing Flash...
    flashfs[0]: 17 files, 2 directories
    flashfs[0]: 0 orphaned files, 0 orphaned directories
    flashfs[0]: Total bytes: 3612672
    flashfs[0]: Bytes used: 2931200
    flashfs[0]: Bytes available: 681472
    flashfs[0]: flashfs fsck took 3 seconds.
    ....done Initializing Flash.
    Boot Sector Filesystem (bs:) installed, fsid: 3
    Parameter Block Filesystem (pb:) installed, fsid: 4
    Loading "flash:c3500xl-c3h2s-mz.120-5.WC8.bin"...######################################################################################################################################################################################

    File "flash:c3500xl-c3h2s-mz.120-5.WC8.bin" uncompressed and installed, entry point: 0x3000
    executing...

    Restricted Rights Legend

    Use, duplication, or disclosure by the Government is
    subject to restrictions as set forth in subparagraph
    (c) of the Commercial Computer Software - Restricted
    Rights clause at FAR sec. 52.227-19 and subparagraph
    (c) (1) (ii) of the Rights in Technical Data and Computer
    Software clause at DFARS sec. 252.227-7013.

    cisco Systems, Inc.
    170 West Tasman Drive
    San Jose, California 95134-1706



    Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software
    IOS (tm) C3500XL Software (C3500XL-C3H2S-M), Version 12.0(5)WC8, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
    Copyright (c) 1986-2003 by cisco Systems, Inc.
    Compiled Thu 19-Jun-03 12:37 by antonino
    Image text-base: 0x00003000, data-base: 0x0034E2F4


    Initializing C3500XL flash...
    flashfs[1]: 17 files, 2 directories
    flashfs[1]: 0 orphaned files, 0 orphaned directories
    flashfs[1]: Total bytes: 3612672
    flashfs[1]: Bytes used: 2931200
    flashfs[1]: Bytes available: 681472
    flashfs[1]: flashfs fsck took 4 seconds.
    flashfs[1]: Initialization complete.
    ....done Initializing C3500XL flash.
    C3500XL POST: System Board Test: Passed
    C3500XL POST: Daughter Card Test: Passed
    C3500XL POST: CPU Buffer Test: Passed
    C3500XL POST: CPU Notify RAM Test: Passed
    C3500XL POST: CPU Interface Test: Passed
    C3500XL POST: Testing Switch Core: Passed
    C3500XL POST: Testing Buffer Table: Passed
    C3500XL POST: Data Buffer Test: Passed
    C3500XL POST: Configuring Switch Parameters: Passed
    C3500XL POST: Ethernet Controller Test: Passed
    C3500XL POST: MII Test: Passed
    cisco WS-C3548-XL (PowerPC403) processor (revision 0x01) with 16384K/1024K bytes of memory.
    Processor board ID FAA0444W1A8, with hardware revision 0x00
    Last reset from power-on

    Processor is running Enterprise Edition Software
    Cluster command switch capable
    Cluster member switch capable
    48 FastEthernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)
    2 Gigabit Ethernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)

    32K bytes of flash-simulated non-volatile configuration memory.
    Base ethernet MAC Address: 00:04:27:FF:73:80
    Motherboard assembly number: 73-3903-07
    Motherboard serial number: FAA0442A4MN
    Power supply serial number: NONE
    Model revision number: A0
    Motherboard revision number: B0
    Model number: WS-C3548-XL-EN
    System serial number: FAA0444W1A8
    C3500XL INIT: Complete

    *Feb 28 16:00:46: %SYS-5-CONFIG: Configured from NVRAM by console
    *Feb 28 16:00:46: %SYS-5-RESTART: System restarted --
    Cisco Internetwork Operating System Software
    IOS (tm) C3500XL Software (C3500XL-C3H2S-M), Version 12.0(5)WC8, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1)
    Copyright (c) 1986-2003 by cisco Systems, Inc.
    Compiled Thu 19-Jun-03 12:37 by antonino
     
    David Henzler, Apr 21, 2009
    #5
  6. David Henzler <> writes:
    >>>At the moment some of the ports don't show up. When I first got the unit
    >>>it only showed 24 ports, last night 37, and who knows... maybe I'll
    >>>eventually get all 48. It seems to be ok, but some setting may exist
    >>>that limits what is available.

    >>
    >> Sounds like you have bad hardware? The only reason ports don't show up is
    >> that they aren't scanned during POST, and failed out or something.


    >This looks pretty normal don't you think?


    Yes, you have all your ports :)

    >48 FastEthernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)
    >2 Gigabit Ethernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)


    Looks like a normal boot with no errors during POST.
     
    Doug McIntyre, Apr 21, 2009
    #6
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Matthew
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,409
    Dalgaard
    Oct 26, 2003
  2. NNTP
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    2,129
  3. ants

    QOS on C3500XL

    ants, Jan 28, 2005, in forum: Cisco
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,483
    BradReeseCom
    Jan 28, 2005
  4. Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,936
  5. jjw

    boot to dos in win98 from nt boot loader

    jjw, Sep 16, 2004, in forum: A+ Certification
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    1,242
Loading...

Share This Page