3600 series configuration help needed

Discussion in 'Cisco' started by dvanpelt, Sep 28, 2009.

  1. dvanpelt

    dvanpelt

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Hello, I need a little help configuring a cisco router, it has been several years since I have done this so I need a little help.

    Heres the details: I need to configure this router for a small network, the DHCP is handled on the server, so I don't believe any networking protocols will be needed, I should only have to set up a few static routes.

    We are currently using a linksys router which is basically overloading frequently, when I bring up the routing table there are only 4 rows, will I just have to configure these 4 static routes on the cisco router and set up the 2 DNS using the ip name-server command? What other commands will I need?

    right now the default gateway in the table is 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 63.86.148.201, can I use the same gateway or do I change it to the IP address of the ethernet0/0 interface?

    Thank you
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2009
    dvanpelt, Sep 28, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. dvanpelt

    dvanpelt

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    This is the setup I currently used, I haven't had a chance to connect this router to the network yet. This is what comes up when I do show startup-config:


    Using 1015 out of 126968 bytes
    !
    version 12.4
    service timestamps debug datetime msec
    service timestamps log datetime msec
    no service password-encryption
    !
    hostname Coastal
    !
    boot-start-marker
    boot-end-marker
    !
    enable secret 5 $1$dK8I$z3U8FoDknl0CYlZFwjLH21
    !
    no aaa new-model
    !
    resource policy
    !
    !
    ip cef
    no ip domain lookup
    ip name-server 63.46.160.10
    ip name-server 63.46.160.11
    !
    !
    !
    username admin privilege 15 password 0 admin
    !
    !
    interface Ethernet0/0
    ip address 63.86.148.203 255.255.255.0
    half-duplex
    !
    interface Ethernet0/1
    no ip address
    shutdown
    half-duplex
    !
    ip http server
    ip http authentication local
    !
    ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 63.86.148.201
    ip route 63.86.148.0 255.255.255.0 0.0.0.0
    ip route 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0 0.0.0.0
    ip route 192.168.3.0 255.255.255.0 192.168.1.254
    !
    !
    control-plane
    !
    !
    telephony-service
    ip source-address 172.25.140.100 port 2000
    max-conferences 4 gain -6
    !

    line con 0
    exec-timeout 0 0
    logging synchronous
    line aux 0
    line vty 0 4
    login
    !

    end


    Do I need to configure the NAT? or anything else or should it be good to go?

    Thank you
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2009
    dvanpelt, Sep 28, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. dvanpelt

    dvanpelt

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    I am still unsure what to make my defualt gateway, some websites say to use the ethernet interface but I don't believe that would work. When I do ipconfig from command prompt it says my default gateway is 192.168.1.1 and the main office said my defualt gateway is 192.168.1.254/30 and the current linksys router says the defualt gateway is 63.86.148.201

    My only guess is 63.86.148.201 is my WAN gateway and 192.168.1.1 is my local gateway?


    My other question lies with the interfaces. The current linksys router has a WAN IP address and a local IP address, would I assign the WAN IP address to the first ethernet interface(ethernet 0/0) and the local IP address to the second ethernet interface(ethernet0/1)?

    I am currently an intern and this is a great learning experience for me, I appreciate any help given :)
    Last edited: Sep 29, 2009
    dvanpelt, Sep 28, 2009
    #3
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Fran
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    598
    Chris Patterson
    Feb 20, 2006
  2. BillyJoe
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    3,099
    BillyJoe
    Mar 5, 2004
  3. Webmills

    Cisco 3600 Series Newbie Question

    Webmills, Jun 20, 2007, in forum: Cisco
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    352
    Trendkill
    Jun 20, 2007
  4. sdtom
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    936
    cfriedel
    Oct 29, 2007
  5. Tim
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    403
Loading...

Share This Page