Velocity Reviews - Computer Hardware Reviews

Velocity Reviews > Newsgroups > Programming > VHDL > HELP! VHDL real TYPE produces infinite decimal. How to approximateor reduce precision?

HELP! VHDL real TYPE produces infinite decimal. How to approximateor reduce precision?

adam.kimura@googlemail.com

06-04-2013
Hello

I am fairly new to VHDL and have hit a wall in my code.

Basically, I am wanting to convert a 50% duty cycle frequency signal into aperiod with microsecond units. In VHDL, I perform a 1/frequency operationin order to get the period and then convert it to seconds. I declared theperiod as a real type. The problem I have is when I end up with a frequency that creates an infinite decimal for the period calculation (Example: 1/3 = 0.333333..... )My simulator cannot handle the infinite decimal.

Is there a way to limit the precision of a REAL type number in VHDL? Should I use a floating point? I appreciate the help!

06-04-2013
Hello Alan,

I think I got it working. I honestly don't know what happened. I was trying to re-create the error that I was getting, but it seemed to work fine now. Is there a limit on the number of decimal places a REAL type can have? From what I understood from the error message, the decimal places were infinite; which caused the simulation error. I understood this to mean that VHDL cannot represent such a number beyond a certain number of decimal places. In languages like C++, a number like 1/3 cannot be accurately represented since it is 0.3333333.... (re-occurring 3.) I have the situation where I am dividing 1 by decimal numbers... hence the long decimals.

Thanks again for your help.

ak

On Tuesday, June 4, 2013 3:18:30 PM UTC-4, Alan Fitch wrote:
> On 04/06/13 18:04, http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/(E-Mail Removed) wrote:
>
> > Hello

>
> >

>
> > I am fairly new to VHDL and have hit a wall in my code.

>
> >

>