Velocity Reviews - Computer Hardware Reviews

Velocity Reviews > Newsgroups > Computing > NZ Computing > domain registrar site puzzle

Reply
Thread Tools

domain registrar site puzzle

 
 
Reg@nospam.com
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      10-08-2012
I was trying to help my son who lives in the UK with a
site he has registered with buydomains.com
He sent me login details along with the address
http://www.buydomainsregistrations.com/
When my browsers try to go to that address they tell me it does not
exist. Chrome suggested I try http://www.buydomainsregistration.com/
I went there and could not log in using the details he gave me.
He checked immediately and found
http://www.buydomainsregistrations.com/ ok and successfully logged in.

He immediately changed the password in case i had been caught in some
redirecting scam.

What is happening here? Can anyone explain?

TIA
Reg
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Reg@nospam.com
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      10-08-2012
Sorry - forget it.
He got muddled up as to which site address he was using.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Reg@nospam.com
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      10-08-2012
On Mon, 08 Oct 2012 22:51:30 +1300, Allistar <>
wrote:

> wrote:
>
>> I was trying to help my son who lives in the UK with a
>> site he has registered with buydomains.com
>> He sent me login details along with the address
>> http://www.buydomainsregistrations.com/
>> When my browsers try to go to that address they tell me it does not
>> exist. Chrome suggested I try http://www.buydomainsregistration.com/
>> I went there and could not log in using the details he gave me.
>> He checked immediately and found
>> http://www.buydomainsregistrations.com/ ok and successfully logged in.
>>
>> He immediately changed the password in case i had been caught in some
>> redirecting scam.
>>
>> What is happening here? Can anyone explain?

>
>I don't get a "does not exist" message, I get a "the site is taking too long
>to respond" message. This site does exist (i.e. it has an entry in the DNS).
>It appears as though the server at that address is playing up.



Sorry, it did not specifically say "does not exist"
This morning, trying to find exactly what it did say,
http://www.buydomainsregistrations.com/
took me to
https://www.buydomainsregistrations....?ReturnUrl=%2f
so it looks like they might have been working on the site yesterday,
which would have been Sunday in the USA

However my son has sorted out his problem for himself so that ends the
iissue as far as I'm concerned. There is nothing more frustrating than
someone asking for help and then feeding you inaccurate information
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transferring a .com domain from a Japanese registrar to our NZ registrar Alan NZ Computing 7 11-16-2008 07:59 PM
Check the services provided by domain registrar ASK HTML 1 04-09-2004 03:39 AM



Advertisments
 



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57