Jordon wrote:
> Anyone know anything about 1e100.net?
>
> Today I was trying to diagnose high CPU usage and was running
> WhatsRunning. I noticed that I had a few http connections to a
> host called pz-in-f147.1e100.net. When I look up that domain I
> find it's owned by Google. There's quite a bit of info on it
> but none addressing the problem I have.
>
> When I block all access to 1e100.net in my router/firewall I
> have no http access to anything outside of my local network.
> Email works. Newsgroups work. Web's broken. Using 3 different
> browsers (FF, Seamonkey and Internet Exploder), I'll see a
> connection to the sites I'm trying to go to on the status bar,
> but they always time out.
>
> Any ideas?
A freebie program that you use is adware. It connects back to its own
web site to pipe through the Google crap or has the Google ads go
directly to some panel or display area in the adware program.
You never bothered to identify "WhatsRunning". It isn't available as a
download from download.com, softpedia.com, or brothersoft.com. A Google
on it turns up
http://www.whatsrunning.com/.
Another search on "What's Running" (2 words, not the 1 word you showed)
did find downloads at download.com. CNet is notorious for not identify
adware. They list this as "Price: Free". That doesn't mean it is true
freeware (i.e., unfettered in all ways, including free from ads or
marketing sites wanting to collect statistics). I then found "What's
Running" on Softpedia who usually but not always gets it right regarding
adware. They list this program as freeware.
If you see no ads in any window (dialog, config, popup, etc) for the
program, and you are sure that it isn't reporting usage statistics to
Google, then you'll have to ask the developer why their product is
making surpetitious connections to place it naught.
And just HOW do you know that it is this program's process(es) that are
connection to 1e100.net? Are you using SysInternals' TCPview,
SmartSniff, Wireshark, or another port monitoring program that shows
which process has which ports connected (local and remote) and to where?
Are you using something other than What's Running to list the network
connections (to verify what it says is what something also says)?
Does the program's EULA hint at some association to Google? You sure it
is What's Running (it processes) that are making the connects to Google
and not something in your web browser, like the Google Toolbar?
I did a search on "1e100" in their forum (actually a private Google
Group) and got no hits. You could ask there to see if anyone else
notices the connects to Google when they run this program. Don't expect
much response there, however, as it is a rather dead group. Their
Support Forum link goes to a private Google Group. The forum link in
the FAQ page goes to
http://www.bbfun.com/?mforum=whatsrunning. That's
a dead site snatched up by a domain squatter. So do you really want to
be using this software when its author pretends to have forums but
really doesn't? After drilling around for awhile, I found their contact
web form (
http://www.whatsrunning.net/contact.aspx). You could ask the
author why there are connects to Google when using his software. If you
don't get a response, well, that's another red flag.