On Aug 7, 11:51*am, Noop <questione...@yahoo.com> wrote:
> Hi all,
>
> I keep finding that browsers are accessing 1e100.net
> in the background. Often there are 5 or 10 open connections
> to servers at that domain. This is true of Firefox, Safari, and
> Opera.
>
> People say this is something to do with safe browsing,
> so in Firefox I went to alt:config and disabled "safe browsing" and
> set all URLs to do with safe browsing to a bogus domain, yet
> these connections are still being made.
>
> So if 1e100.net connections are nothing to do with
> safe browsing, what are they? Are they tracking web
> accesses illegally? They are something to do with MarkMonitor
> which seems to be about DRM.
>
> Anybody here know?
It is from Google and apparently is not harmful. See
http://www.pcmech.com/article/the-mysterious-1e100-net/ . If you do a
Google search on 1e100.net you will get more references on this
strange name than you likely have time to read. The strange name and
the fact that Google introduced it without much, if any, publicity has
made many wonder what it is doing.