Gerard Bok wrote:
> On Sat, 8 Aug 2009 15:08:19 +0100, "~BD~"
> <> wrote:
>
>> www.banthecheck.com resolves to
>> http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/blog...showentry=1564
>
>> I should be grateful if someone will explain how this is done.
>
> http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HTTP_302
> and
> http://www.w3.org/Protocols/rfc2616/rfc2616-sec10.html
>
>> Presumably any link shown in any post could be similarly disguised
>> and take 'the unsuspecting' to a fraudulent site.
>>
>> Is this a correct assumption?
>
> Yes, it is.
> Bottom line: don't click and be carefull.
Hello Gerard - thank you for your reply.
I've looked at each of the links you have provided and have gleaned a
little more knowledge but I'm really a bit out of my depth. I don't want
to create disguised URL's myself, simply ensure that the one I
illustrated was bona fide.
I remembered you had once advised me before and found this thread via
Google:-
http://forums.speedguide.net/showthread.php?t=254235
I never did receive a response to my final question to David H Lipman
which said:
Quote:
"I've *never* spotted anyone - ever - recommending folk should post at
Annexcafe User2User to have questions answered.
It seems really good (superficially) - so why is it never mentioned?"
Have others reading here ever been there or seen the site recommended?
Thanks
--
Dave