Velocity Reviews - Computer Hardware Reviews

Velocity Reviews > Newsgroups > Computing > NZ Computing > Telescum Spam or Phishing

Reply
Thread Tools

Telescum Spam or Phishing

 
 
Collector»NZ
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-28-2007
Got an offer from Telescum via my Orcon account asking me to download a
Broadband assistant, it appears from headers etc that this is coming
from a NZ Spamming company called Calcium (http://mailprimer.com) the
reply to address is telecomhelpassistant.co.nz which is an Apache Tomcat
server with no content.

Had about 3 of these so far, two to dead end addresses at my domain and
1 to my normal use address.

Wasting there bloody time sending to me, I am not a Telescum customer
and never will be if I can avoid it.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Enkidu
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-28-2007
Collector»NZ wrote:
> Got an offer from Telescum via my Orcon account asking me to download a
> Broadband assistant, it appears from headers etc that this is coming
> from a NZ Spamming company called Calcium (http://mailprimer.com) the
> reply to address is telecomhelpassistant.co.nz which is an Apache Tomcat
> server with no content.
>
> Had about 3 of these so far, two to dead end addresses at my domain and
> 1 to my normal use address.
>
> Wasting there bloody time sending to me, I am not a Telescum customer
> and never will be if I can avoid it.
>

What makes you think it has anything to do with Telecom?

Cheers,

Cliff

--

Have you ever noticed that if something is advertised as 'amusing' or
'hilarious', it usually isn't?
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Collector»NZ
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-28-2007
Enkidu wrote:
> Collector»NZ wrote:
>> Got an offer from Telescum via my Orcon account asking me to download
>> a Broadband assistant, it appears from headers etc that this is
>> coming from a NZ Spamming company called Calcium
>> (http://mailprimer.com) the reply to address is
>> telecomhelpassistant.co.nz which is an Apache Tomcat server with no
>> content.
>>
>> Had about 3 of these so far, two to dead end addresses at my domain
>> and 1 to my normal use address.
>>
>> Wasting there bloody time sending to me, I am not a Telescum customer
>> and never will be if I can avoid it.
> >

> What makes you think it has anything to do with Telecom?
>
> Cheers,
>
> Cliff
>

Telescum actually own one of the domains used in the spam.
The Scum bags at Calcium have confirmed that Telescum are using there
software and facilities for this marketing
 
Reply With Quote
 
peterwn
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-28-2007
Collector»NZ wrote:
> Got an offer from Telescum via my Orcon account asking me to download a
> Broadband assistant,


Someone I know (an Xtra broadband customer) has received a similar
invitation.

Who knows what gives with the 'product' - does it embrace itself in your
computer like spyware? I am adverse to downloading such 'products'
unless I know in advance exactly what it does and whether I can wipe it
off the computer if need be.

Is there any *real* advantage for an 'ordinary user' to have this
'product' installed.
 
Reply With Quote
 
thingy
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-28-2007
peterwn wrote:
> Collector»NZ wrote:
>> Got an offer from Telescum via my Orcon account asking me to download
>> a Broadband assistant,

>
> Someone I know (an Xtra broadband customer) has received a similar
> invitation.
>
> Who knows what gives with the 'product' - does it embrace itself in your
> computer like spyware? I am adverse to downloading such 'products'
> unless I know in advance exactly what it does and whether I can wipe it
> off the computer if need be.
>
> Is there any *real* advantage for an 'ordinary user' to have this
> 'product' installed.


Even if they told you what it does, would you trust them? I would'nt....

regards

Thing
 
Reply With Quote
 
Matty F
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-29-2007
On Jun 29, 9:07 am, Collector»NZ <collector...@gmail.com> wrote:
> Got an offer from Telescum via my Orcon account asking me to download a
> Broadband assistant, it appears from headers etc that this is coming
> from a NZ Spamming company called Calcium (http://mailprimer.com)


I have been sent a similar message with links to mailprimer.com and it
has been considered as spam by xtra and placed in my Spam folder.
How funny is that!


 
Reply With Quote
 
Collector»NZ
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-30-2007
Matty F wrote:
> On Jun 29, 9:07 am, Collector»NZ <collector...@gmail.com> wrote:
>
>> Got an offer from Telescum via my Orcon account asking me to download a
>> Broadband assistant, it appears from headers etc that this is coming
>> from a NZ Spamming company called Calcium (http://mailprimer.com)
>>

>
> I have been sent a similar message with links to mailprimer.com and it
> has been considered as spam by xtra and placed in my Spam folder.
> How funny is that!
>
>
>

Calcium (mailprimer.com) claim it is nothing to do with them and they
are not spamming, yet it is there service that is sending it for Telescum.

I hope somebody does a DDOS or similar against them
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spam, spam, spam, spam... rickman VHDL 5 02-13-2010 04:52 PM
Best Spam / Phishing Filter blah Computer Security 7 12-22-2006 11:34 PM
Headsup!! ANZ phishing spam :-( Adam NZ Computing 8 03-24-2006 10:46 AM
Spam! Spam! Spam! Spam! Anon anon_007_35@lostbbs.dyndns.org Computer Information 1 01-30-2005 04:16 AM
Spam! Spam! Spam! Spam! Anon anon_007_35@lostbbs.dyndns.org Computer Support 1 01-30-2005 04:16 AM



Advertisments