Hi All,
This is a follow up on an issue I posted on a while back:
http://groups.google.co.nz/group/nz....3ee16bd7e417bc
I still don't fully understand, so I am looking for a little more
education albeit from a stronger base of knowledge now hopefully!
I have (again) an unknown IP address being accessed from inside our
LAN serving up a significant amount of data.
This time, the IP is:
210.55.204.214
If I do a search on that IP in Domain Dossier
(
http://centralops.net/co/DomainDossier.aspx) I get the following
extract:
HTTP/1.0 400 Bad Request
Server: AkamaiGHost
Mime-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/html
Content-Length: 187
Expires: Thu, 06 Apr 2006 21:46:18 GMT
Date: Thu, 06 Apr 2006 21:46:18 GMT
Connection: close
Specifically, we see that 'AkamaiGHost' server again.
From what I was told last time, this *could* be a server used by
Microsoft to distribute updates etc.
However, my ISA 2004 server also shows traffic to the following
servers
in the same log:
download.microsoft.com
office.microsoft.com
www.download.windowsupdate.com
update.microsoft.com
au.download.windowsupdate.com
Therefore, I am now having concers that the IP address above is *not*
a windows / office update site of some sort since they appear in my
logs with their canonical names, not just an IP address.
Am I being too paranoid here? If not, and I block access to the IP
address totally, could that have a negative impact on our machines in
terms of failing to get windows updates (or worse, not even being
aware that there are updates available that they cannot get)?
Could it be some other form of updates (Symantec virus definitions for
example)? If so, how can I tell for sure?
I don't want to to block access to the site and find that it has
silently stuffed up something important that I don't find out about
for a few weeks.
Thanks,
Alan.
--
The views expressed are my own, and not those of my employer or anyone
else associated with me.
My current valid email address is:
This is valid as is. It is not munged, or altered at all.
It will be valid for AT LEAST one month from the date of this post.
If you are trying to contact me after that time,
it MAY still be valid, but may also have been
deactivated due to spam. If so, and you want
to contact me by email, try searching for a
more recent post by me to find my current
email address.
The following is a (probably!) totally unique
and meaningless string of characters that you
can use to find posts by me in a search engine:
ewygchvboocno43vb674b6nq46tvb