Velocity Reviews - Computer Hardware Reviews

Velocity Reviews > Newsgroups > Computing > NZ Computing > Blocked IPs?

Reply
Thread Tools

Blocked IPs?

 
 
Jeremy Bentham
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-11-2003
I'm on a TelstraClear / Paradise cable modem.

When I try to access the web site for the "Independent" in the UK, I
get:

Access Denied
You don't have permission to access
"http://news.independent.co.uk/uk/environment/story.jsp?" on this
server.

I'm thinking they have started blocking IPs they may consider possible
sources of SPAM....

Has anyone else seen this? Can everyone else access this site from their
networks?


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Jeremy Bentham
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-11-2003
Jeremy Bentham allegedly said:

> I'm on a TelstraClear / Paradise cable modem.
>
> When I try to access the web site for the "Independent" in the UK, I
> get:
>
> Access Denied
> You don't have permission to access
> "http://news.independent.co.uk/uk/environment/story.jsp?" on this
> server.
>
> I'm thinking they have started blocking IPs they may consider possible
> sources of SPAM....
>
> Has anyone else seen this? Can everyone else access this site from their
> networks?


Full URL is:

http://news.independent.co.uk/uk/env...p?story=431319

I can't even access: www.independent.co.uk


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Rob
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-11-2003
"Jeremy Bentham" <> wrote in message
news:ibBZa.10553$...
> Jeremy Bentham allegedly said:
>
> > I'm on a TelstraClear / Paradise cable modem.
> >
> > When I try to access the web site for the "Independent" in the UK, I
> > get:
> >
> > Access Denied
> > You don't have permission to access
> > "http://news.independent.co.uk/uk/environment/story.jsp?" on this
> > server.
> >
> > I'm thinking they have started blocking IPs they may consider possible
> > sources of SPAM....
> >
> > Has anyone else seen this? Can everyone else access this site from their
> > networks?

>
> Full URL is:
>
> http://news.independent.co.uk/uk/env...p?story=431319
>
> I can't even access: www.independent.co.uk
>

No problem here on Ihug.




 
Reply With Quote
 
Anthony Neville
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-11-2003
"Jeremy Bentham" <> wrote in message
news:ibBZa.10553$...
[...]
> > I'm thinking they have started blocking IPs they may consider possible
> > sources of SPAM....
> >
> > Has anyone else seen this? Can everyone else access this site from their
> > networks?

>
> Full URL is:
>
> http://news.independent.co.uk/uk/env...p?story=431319
>
> I can't even access: www.independent.co.uk
>


I use a TelstraClear / Paradise cable modem and can access both links.

Tony.


 
Reply With Quote
 
colinco
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-11-2003
In article <ibBZa.10553$>, Jeremy Bentham
wrote...
> Has anyone else seen this? Can everyone else access this site from their
> > networks?

>
> Full URL is:
>
> http://news.independent.co.uk/uk/env...p?story=431319
>
> I can't even access: www.independent.co.uk
>
>


Works from xtra. If you are still having trouble try via a proxy site.

http://www.space.net.au/~thomas/quickbrowse.html
 
Reply With Quote
 
Jeremy Bentham
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-11-2003
Anthony Neville allegedly said:

>
> I use a TelstraClear / Paradise cable modem and can access both links.
>
> Tony.


....and you're on the 202.0.47 subnet?
 
Reply With Quote
 
Anthony Neville
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-11-2003

"Jeremy Bentham" <> wrote in message
news:9GBZa.10571$...
> Anthony Neville allegedly said:
>
> >
> > I use a TelstraClear / Paradise cable modem and can access both links.
> >
> > Tony.

>
> ...and you're on the 202.0.47 subnet?


Yes.

Tony.


 
Reply With Quote
 
M
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-11-2003

"Jeremy Bentham" <> wrote in message
news:5aBZa.10550$...
> I'm on a TelstraClear / Paradise cable modem.
>
> When I try to access the web site for the "Independent" in the UK, I
> get:
>
> Access Denied
> You don't have permission to access
> "http://news.independent.co.uk/uk/environment/story.jsp?" on this
> server.
>
> I'm thinking they have started blocking IPs they may consider possible
> sources of SPAM....
>
> Has anyone else seen this? Can everyone else access this site from their
> networks?
>


It would appear that the DNS is trying to point them at an NZ site which is
broken :

Mon Aug 11 13:27:26 doh:~# traceroute www.independent.co.uk
traceroute: Warning: www.independent.co.uk has multiple addresses; using
203.167.223.235
traceroute to a673.g.akamai.net (203.167.223.235), 30 hops max, 38 byte
packets
1 corokia (192.168.0.32) 0.492 ms 0.355 ms 0.343 ms
2 fe7-3-2.bertha.paradise.net.nz (203.79.92.1) 12.188 ms 13.657 ms
11.950 ms
3 g1-0-1042.u21.tar.telstraclear.net (203.98.23.41) 14.877 ms 16.028 ms
15.126 ms
4 g9-0.1041.u12.brh.telstraclear.net (203.98.21.37) 21.896 ms 38.879 ms
27.763 ms
5 g1-926.u11.pnr.telstraclear.net (218.101.61.33) 28.910 ms 29.784 ms
28.522 ms
6 v927.cs1.akl.telstraclear.net (218.101.61.1) 24.726 ms 29.510 ms
21.298 ms
7 a203-167-223-235.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com (203.167.223.235) 22.947
ms 28.175 ms 27.710 ms
Mon Aug 11 13:27:41 doh:~# host www.independent.co.uk
www.independent.co.uk CNAME travel.independent.co.uk.edgesuite.net
travel.independent.co.uk.edgesuite.net CNAME a673.g.akamai.net
a673.g.akamai.net A 203.167.223.235
a673.g.akamai.net A 203.167.251.147
Mon Aug 11 13:27:56 doh:~# telnet www.independent.co.uk 80
Trying 203.167.251.147...
Connected to a203-167-251-147.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com.
Escape character is '^]'.
GET /
HTTP/1.0 408 Request Time-out
Server: AkamaiGHost
Mime-Version: 1.0
Date: Mon, 11 Aug 2003 01:30:57 GMT
Content-Type: text/html
Content-Length: 163
Expires: Mon, 11 Aug 2003 01:30:57 GMT

<HTML><HEAD>
<TITLE>Request Timeout</TITLE>
</HEAD><BODY>
<H1>Request Timeout</H1>
The server timed out while waiting for the browser's request.<P>
</BODY></HTML>
Connection closed by foreign host.
Mon Aug 11 13:30:57 doh:~#



 
Reply With Quote
 
Mark.
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-11-2003
yes, i was having the same problem yesterday, trying to access the
independent. Still having same thing happening today.

I'm on Paradise adsl in auckland.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Jeremy Bentham
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-11-2003
M allegedly said:

>
> It would appear that the DNS is trying to point them at an NZ site which
> is broken :


Yes....Paradise help desk sent me an e-mail saying they are having problems
with a caching server.

They see it as a serious problem and are working to fix it ASAP.



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Site to open the blocked sites and blocked and encoded alagmy2030 Javascript 0 02-11-2011 11:54 PM
blocked ports J Lunis Wireless Networking 0 07-26-2005 03:55 PM
Allowed Site Blocked after 20 popups?? joe Firefox 1 06-01-2005 11:32 PM
Blocked Port Old Ranger Wireless Networking 0 02-27-2005 06:41 PM
Cookies not blocked... GCS Firefox 0 07-23-2003 06:07 PM



Advertisments
 



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57