"Jer" <> wrote in message
news:...
> Paul Arthur wrote:
>> On 2006-12-18, dotnetalien <> wrote:
>>> Hi all
>>> Check the latest picasa from Google. It has been updated with some
>>> cool
>>> fun features
>>
>> Get Picasa from picasa.google.com, not a secondary source.
>> Remember:
>> malware bad.
>
> That kinda what I thought, but the site referenced in the OP is
> registered to Google according to ANIC. <shrug>
You need to look further than just the domain name.
The domain name is the last word before the suffix
(whatever.domain.suffix). Anything prior to the domain is merely a
page or site name within the domain and may not have anything to do
with the owner of the domain beyond hosting.
The "googlepages.com" domain is a webpage creation site owned by
Google, however, anyone can create a page on their site, just like a
Yahoo site, and put viruses, trojans, or whatever they want in apps
for people to download. The site should not to be trusted since it is
in no way affiliated with Google, even if any software on the site is
legit because these sites often use referrals and ads, and along with
free hits from people who visit their site after spamming newsgroups,
they make ad money and should be shunned for that reason.
Picasa has its own website created by Google personnel and there is no
reason to get it anywhere else:
http://picasa.google.com/
--
Happy Holidays!