Velocity Reviews - Computer Hardware Reviews

Velocity Reviews > Newsgroups > Computing > Digital Photography > Canon 70-200mm F2.8 With 1.4 Extender

Reply
Thread Tools

Canon 70-200mm F2.8 With 1.4 Extender

 
 
Russell
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-08-2005
According to Canon's instructions:

"If an extender (optional) is attached and the maximum aperture of the lens
is f/5.6 or smaller, AF will not be possible. For details, see the
Extender's instructions."

Does that mean you loose Auto Focus when using a Canon 70-200mm F2.8 with
1.4 Extender? Or does AF work, but only from F8 and smaller (F5.6, plus the
1 stop loss from the converter).

Anyone know why this is?


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
C Wright
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-08-2005
On 5/8/05 8:49 AM, in article http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/(E-Mail Removed), "Russell"
<(E-Mail Removed)> wrote:

> According to Canon's instructions:
>
> "If an extender (optional) is attached and the maximum aperture of the lens
> is f/5.6 or smaller, AF will not be possible. For details, see the
> Extender's instructions."
>
> Does that mean you loose Auto Focus when using a Canon 70-200mm F2.8 with
> 1.4 Extender? Or does AF work, but only from F8 and smaller (F5.6, plus the
> 1 stop loss from the converter).
>
> Anyone know why this is?
>
>

You are trying to make it too complicated! The lens always focuses at
maximum aperture, then stops down when the shutter button is pressed. So
the only thing that you need to be concerned about is the maximum aperture
available. The 1.4 extender will cost you one stop so your f2.8 lens will,
in effect, become an f4 lens. That is enough aperture for auto focus to
always work.
Chuck

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
[BnH]
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-08-2005
What Teleconverter are you buying ? Is it this one ?
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...=220456&is=USA

There is a few limitation . .but the AF still works.

=bob=


"Russell" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
> According to Canon's instructions:
>
> "If an extender (optional) is attached and the maximum aperture of the
> lens
> is f/5.6 or smaller, AF will not be possible. For details, see the
> Extender's instructions."
>
> Does that mean you loose Auto Focus when using a Canon 70-200mm F2.8 with
> 1.4 Extender? Or does AF work, but only from F8 and smaller (F5.6, plus
> the
> 1 stop loss from the converter).
>
> Anyone know why this is?
>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Bill Hilton
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-08-2005
>"If an extender (optional) is attached and the maximum aperture of the

>lens is f/5.6 or smaller, AF will not be possible.


This is true for the consumer cameras, but with the Pro models like the
1Ds and 1D series it's f/8.

>Does that mean you loose Auto Focus when using a Canon 70-200mm
>F2.8 with 1.4 Extender?


No, because the "max aperture" is f/4 with this combo. You can also
use the 2x and the max aperture is f/5.6. It means you can't put the
1.4x on an f/5.6 lens and AF or the 2x on an f/4 lens and AF, that's
all.

>Or does AF work, but only from F8 and smaller ...


It will AF with the lens wide open and then stop down to the desired
aperture when you actually take the shot. So you can set it for f/32
but with the 1.4x or 2x t/c on the f/2.8 lens it will still AF, because
focussing takes place while the lens is wide open.

>Anyone know why this is?


Because the body needs a certain amount of light and contrast to
autofocus reliably.

Bill

 
Reply With Quote
 
Marius
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-08-2005
Fred Miranda gives a solution for the autofocus limitations of
teleconverters:

http://www.fredmiranda.com/TipsPage/


Marius



 
Reply With Quote
 
Russell
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-08-2005
Cheers all.


"Russell" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed)...
> According to Canon's instructions:
>
> "If an extender (optional) is attached and the maximum aperture of the

lens
> is f/5.6 or smaller, AF will not be possible. For details, see the
> Extender's instructions."
>
> Does that mean you loose Auto Focus when using a Canon 70-200mm F2.8 with
> 1.4 Extender? Or does AF work, but only from F8 and smaller (F5.6, plus

the
> 1 stop loss from the converter).
>
> Anyone know why this is?
>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Dave R knows who
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-09-2005

"Bill Hilton" <(E-Mail Removed)> wrote in message
news:(E-Mail Removed) oups.com...
> >"If an extender (optional) is attached and the maximum aperture of the

>
>>lens is f/5.6 or smaller, AF will not be possible.

>
> This is true for the consumer cameras, but with the Pro models like the
> 1Ds and 1D series it's f/8.



Ding, ding , ding! Finally the correct answer.


 
Reply With Quote
 
JPS@no.komm
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      05-13-2005
In message <427e611f$0$803$(E-Mail Removed) >,
"Marius" <nieuws*takeaway*@hrl.dosgg.nl> wrote:

>Fred Miranda gives a solution for the autofocus limitations of
>teleconverters:
>
>http://www.fredmiranda.com/TipsPage/


Of course, AF can become very slow and very inaccurate when forced to
work with a TC.
--

<>>< ><<> ><<> <>>< ><<> <>>< <>>< ><<>
John P Sheehy <(E-Mail Removed)>
><<> <>>< <>>< ><<> <>>< ><<> ><<> <>><

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Canon Extender 2X II, New in Box GassMan Digital Photography 0 06-08-2008 02:35 AM
Using Canon X2 Extender With 300mm 2.8 Gino Digital Photography 4 07-18-2007 11:57 PM
Canon 1.4X extender query Paul Burdett Digital Photography 5 07-12-2006 07:57 AM
Canon 1.4 EF extender emski Digital Photography 8 03-05-2005 04:14 PM
Advice needed: Canon 70-200L/2.8 IS + 2x Extender OR 100-400L/4.5-5.6 IS ? Aaaardvark Digital Photography 4 01-25-2004 04:14 AM



Advertisments