![]() |
|
|
|
#1 |
|
Hello,
when I tried to visit the URL which was written in the following post I was warned about a security risk. http://groups.google.se/group/soc.cu...e=source&hl=sv Do you know what the writer was trying to do? -- Luigi Donatello Asero https://www.scaiecat-spa-gigi.com/it/svezia.html 谢谢ä½* ÑпаÑибо Luigi Donatello Asero |
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
Luigi Donatello Asero wrote:
> Hello, > when I tried to visit the URL which was written in the following post > I was warned about a security risk. By whom? What specifically? Well, I got a warning about a certificate error on the https:// link because I explicitly distrust Equifax Global eBusiness Class 1, but that's it. > http://groups.google.se/group/soc.cu...e=source&hl=sv > Do you know what the writer was trying to do? Eh... nothing? Sebastian Gottschalk |
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
"Sebastian Gottschalk" <> skrev i meddelandet news:... > Luigi Donatello Asero wrote: > > > Hello, > > when I tried to visit the URL which was written in the following post > > I was warned about a security risk. > > By whom? J.Venning (see the link) What specifically? > > Well, I got a warning about a certificate error on the https:// link > because I explicitly distrust Equifax Global eBusiness Class 1, but that's > it. > > > http://groups.google.se/group/soc.cu...e=source&hl=sv > > Do you know what the writer was trying to do? > > Eh... nothing? I have Internet Security and I got a message which, translated said more or less that a computer with the adress 127.0.0.1 sent information which was similar to the information in the attack HTTP MS IIS ASP Source disclosure. What does that mean? -- Luigi Donatello Asero https://www.scaiecat-spa-gigi.com/it/svezia.html 谢谢ä½* ÑпаÑибо Luigi Donatello Asero |
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
"Sebastian Gottschalk" <> skrev i meddelandet news:... > Luigi Donatello Asero wrote: > > > Hello, > > when I tried to visit the URL which was written in the following post > > I was warned about a security risk. > > By whom? What specifically? > > Well, I got a warning about a certificate error on the https:// link > because I explicitly distrust Equifax Global eBusiness Class 1, but that's > it. > > > http://groups.google.se/group/soc.cu...e=source&hl=sv > > Do you know what the writer was trying to do? > > Eh... nothing? I answered at alt.computer.security -- Luigi Donatello Asero https://www.scaiecat-spa-gigi.com/ 谢谢ä½* ÑпаÑибо Luigi Donatello Asero |
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
Luigi Donatello Asero wrote:
> I have Internet Security and I got a message which, translated said more or > less that a computer with the adress 127.0.0.1 sent information which was similar > to the information in the attack > HTTP MS IIS ASP Source disclosure. > What does that mean? Nothing. Your network error simulation software simulated a network error. Sebastian Gottschalk |
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
"Sebastian Gottschalk" <> skrev i meddelandet news:... > Luigi Donatello Asero wrote: > > > I have Internet Security and I got a message which, translated said more or > > less that a computer with the adress 127.0.0.1 sent information which was similar > > to the information in the attack > > HTTP MS IIS ASP Source disclosure. > > What does that mean? > > Nothing. Your network error simulation software simulated a network error. Thank you. Is that a kind of behaviour which is normal for Symantec Norton Internet Security? -- Luigi Donatello Asero https://www.scaiecat-spa-gigi.com/ 谢谢ä½* ÑпаÑибо Luigi Donatello Asero |
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
Luigi Donatello Asero wrote:
> > "Sebastian Gottschalk" <> skrev i meddelandet > news:... > > Luigi Donatello Asero wrote: > > > > > I have Internet Security and I got a message which, translated said more > or > > > less that a computer with the adress 127.0.0.1 sent information which > was similar > > > to the information in the attack > > > HTTP MS IIS ASP Source disclosure. > > > What does that mean? > > > > Nothing. Your network error simulation software simulated a network error. > > Thank you. > Is that a kind of behaviour which is normal for Symantec Norton Internet > Security? Of course not. You've fallen victim to Gottschalk's adolescent substitute for "wit". Source disclosure is a form of attack that tries to gain access to information that wouldn't normally be given to others. Typically CGI scripts, and normally to find vulnerabilities in those scripts. Known and unknown. If you're not serving content then it's a good chance you stumbled across a nefarious site that probes visitors for vulnerabilities. If you do serve content you're more than likely seeing a visitor who is "scanning" sites for vulnerabilities. Three's also an outside chance it's coincidental, that NIS false alarmed on something innocuous that just looked like an attack. the slogan "nothing is perfect" applies. Sad as it is this sort of activity is commonplace on the net. Probes and scans are so prevalent it's impossible to keep up with them all, and most people ignore them. The fact that NIS alerted you to something odd should be reassuring in fact. You know it's working. IT pros know that when you see no more breaking attempts you should start to get paranoid. It's a good indication you've been compromised and someone is scrubbing your logs to hide their activity. anonymous |
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
Luigi Donatello Asero wrote:
>> Nothing. Your network error simulation software simulated a network error. > > Thank you. > Is that a kind of behaviour which is normal for Symantec Norton Internet > Security? Randomly yelling messages full of uncorrelated bullshit? Yes. Obviously. Sebastian Gottschalk |
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
anonymous wrote:
> Three's also an outside chance it's coincidental, that NIS false alarmed on > something innocuous that just looked like an attack. the slogan "nothing is > perfect" applies. Sorry, but the related attack doesn't even particularly coincide with the stated website. It simply is random garbage. > Sad as it is this sort of activity is commonplace on the net. Probes > and scans are so prevalent it's impossible to keep up with them all, and > most people ignore them. The fact that NIS alerted you to something odd > should be reassuring in fact. What a nonsense. NIS complaining about exactly nothing doesn't even particularly prove that this nothing is something relevant. Just that NIS is dumb. Sebastian Gottschalk |
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Tremors Attack Pack, all 16x9 ? | WanderinRoy | DVD Video | 0 | 09-08-2007 08:57 PM |
| DVD Verdict reviews: CRUNCH: FAT BURNING AB ATTACK and more! | DVD Verdict | DVD Video | 0 | 11-05-2005 09:18 AM |
| DVD Verdict reviews: DONNIE DARKO: DIRECTOR'S CUT, METALLICA: SOME KIND OF MONSTER, and more! | DVD Verdict | DVD Video | 0 | 02-28-2005 09:14 AM |
| DVD Verdict reviews: A CINDERELLA STORY, THE HOLE, THE ADVENTURES OF JIMMY NEUTRON: ATTACK OF THE TWONKIES, and more! | DVD Verdict | DVD Video | 0 | 11-26-2004 10:09 AM |
| Some kind of virus?? | BodoDin | A+ Certification | 4 | 12-08-2003 04:01 PM |