![]() |
|
|
|
#1 |
|
There are lot's of good freeware sites out there, however, this one is a
bit unique in two ways. 1. The main purpose of this site is to sift through the hundreds of open source and freeware programs available and list only the best ones. I receive RSS feeds from various sources and get the latest news on new developements. Comodo Personal Firewall and ZipGenius are examples of immediate daily updates to this site as they happen. 2. Very easy to sift through the programs and find what you are looking for. I find this action cumbersome at most sites. Those two characteristics make this site a simple quick way to find the best programs along with a bit more than just software. http://bearbottoms1.com Bear Bottoms |
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
From: "Bear Bottoms" <>
| There are lot's of good freeware sites out there, however, this one is a | bit unique in two ways. < snip > There is NOTHING unique in this spam ! -- Dave http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html http://www.ik-cs.com/got-a-virus.htm David H. Lipman |
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
On Wed, 20 Sep 2006 21:19:45 GMT, David H. Lipman wrote:
> From: "Bear Bottoms" <> > >| There are lot's of good freeware sites out there, however, this one is a >| bit unique in two ways. > > < snip > > > There is NOTHING unique in this spam ! It's only SPAM if your selling something...I don't sell anything. This site is simply FREE and I think well organized. Bear Bottoms |
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
From: "Bear Bottoms" <>
| | It's only SPAM if your selling something...I don't sell anything. This | site is simply FREE and I think well organized. It is spam because it was NOT requested information and your posting it all over the place ! The fact that objects on the web site has no bearing on its being spam. Please refrain from spamming a web site to merely increase the number of "hits". -- Dave http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html http://www.ik-cs.com/got-a-virus.htm David H. Lipman |
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
On Wed, 20 Sep 2006 17:03:28 -0500, Bear Bottoms
<> wrote: >On Wed, 20 Sep 2006 21:19:45 GMT, David H. Lipman wrote: >It's only SPAM if your selling something...I don't sell anything. This >site is simply FREE and I think well organized. But its YOUR site and you are shoving it in our faces and this newsgroup is about COMPUTER SECURITY not freeware or websites so you are a spammer, the lowest of the low, and when someone tells you nicely you want to argue ? -- Jim Watt http://www.gibnet.com Jim Watt |
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
On Wed, 20 Sep 2006 22:06:41 GMT, David H. Lipman wrote:
> From: "Bear Bottoms" <> > > >| >| It's only SPAM if your selling something...I don't sell anything. This >| site is simply FREE and I think well organized. > > It is spam because it was NOT requested information and your posting it all over the place ! > > The fact that objects on the web site has no bearing on its being spam. > > Please refrain from spamming a web site to merely increase the number of "hits". Who cares about hits. I get nothing for them. This is a free offering of help. Bear Bottoms |
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
From: "Bear Bottoms" <>
| | Who cares about hits. I get nothing for them. This is a free offering of | help. And it is still spam. If I want Free Comodo software, I'll go to their web site. http://www.personalfirewall.trustix.com/ Now if someone posted a query looking for a web site about free security software and you replyed, that would be a whole different matter. That's not the case here, you are clearly spamming the web site. -- Dave http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html http://www.ik-cs.com/got-a-virus.htm David H. Lipman |
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
On Wed, 20 Sep 2006 22:31:02 GMT, David H. Lipman wrote:
> From: "Bear Bottoms" <> > > >| >| Who cares about hits. I get nothing for them. This is a free offering of >| help. > > And it is still spam. If I want Free Comodo software, I'll go to their web site. > http://www.personalfirewall.trustix.com/ > > Now if someone posted a query looking for a web site about free security software and you > replyed, that would be a whole different matter. That's not the case here, you are clearly > spamming the web site. The definition of spam is purposely vague because everybody has his or her own definition. As it currently stands, spam is in the eye of the beholder. In this case, my post is relevant to the ng, as I target security progs and offer progs that really stand out, along with a lot more. It is a helpful site, only that and I get nothing. Bear Bottoms |
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
On Thu, 21 Sep 2006 00:24:42 +0200, Jim Watt wrote:
> On Wed, 20 Sep 2006 17:03:28 -0500, Bear Bottoms > <> wrote: > >>On Wed, 20 Sep 2006 21:19:45 GMT, David H. Lipman wrote: > >>It's only SPAM if your selling something...I don't sell anything. This >>site is simply FREE and I think well organized. > > But its YOUR site and you are shoving it in our faces and this > newsgroup is about COMPUTER SECURITY not freeware or websites > so you are a spammer, the lowest of the low, and when someone > tells you nicely you want to argue ? I'm not arguing...I made a simple post...that's it. You should check out my suggestions for a security suite on the site...and the online virus scans, and the free tech support forums, all suggestions which goes a bit beyond the simple listing of programs. I like suggestions as to the quality of choices. It is a simple offering of effort. Bear Bottoms |
|
|
|
#10 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
On Wed, 20 Sep 2006 22:19:45 +0100, David H. Lipman
<DLipman~nospam~@Verizon.Net> wrote: > From: "Bear Bottoms" <> > > | There are lot's of good freeware sites out there, however, this one is > a bit unique in two ways. > > < snip > > > There is NOTHING unique in this spam ! > I don't find the website is spam, if you want to say that it is badly designed or the links suck, then fine, but there is no selling and there is not even advertisements where money could be made. The website contains links that maybe of interest, maybe you know all products there already but not everyone, and as far as I can see he did not crosspost. And on everysingle post you have this two websites as a signature, that probably is more spam than his single one group advert which by they way is as much on topic as your websites in the signature. I reccomend from now on he puts his website at the bottom of his signature on everysingle post so people like you stop moaning. Percival |
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Website Design. | Connor Francis | The Lounge | 3 | 10-19-2009 01:59 PM |
| Creating Website | Lupton36 | Software | 0 | 07-16-2008 10:18 AM |
| Please critique this "practical freeware tutorial" for archiving DVDs | janet | DVD Video | 39 | 01-03-2008 03:11 PM |
| My website is up and ready. | dvdguy2@webtv.net | DVD Video | 15 | 11-02-2004 12:20 AM |
| New website | Mike Meyers | A+ Certification | 4 | 11-15-2003 12:08 AM |