On Wed, 11 Aug 2004 13:18:58 +0100, J KScot <> wrote:
>
> IRC this type of spam is usually sent as HTML and includes a link to
> their
> sales department. Some people will instinctively click on that link to
> report that they placed no such order. On reaching the web site, an
> attempt
> will be made to download a virus or Trojan horse of some kind. If the
> user
> does not have an active anti-virus scanner, then...
>
> jim
>
It does try to do that too.
The link is actually a link to
http://eurojobsearch.net/1/index.htm which
loads a chain of bits and bobs and tries to run/download msits.exe which
then tries to do some other stuff with the aim pf hijacking IE search/home
pages. You know the sort of thing.
See
http://www.trendmicro.com/vinfo/viru...JECT.A&VSect=T
which describes similar behaviour.
I looked up eurojobsearch.net and it belongs to:
EuroJob GmBH
Joshua Beckmund ()
+49.5419692211
Fax: none
-
Osnabrück, XX 49028
DE
smnetworking.biz addresses have been used for similar attempts in the
past...