Go Back   Velocity Reviews > Newsgroups > Computer Security
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply

Computer Security - What's this ?

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-02-2006, 09:04 PM   #1
Default What's this ?


http://64.62.228.94/privacySMP.asp?xP03

This seems to be the default page on IE6.0 on my boys computer. Before I
remove it / change the home page back to google, can anyone add anything
to wat it's all about, as it's a bit suspicious to me?
The two links which it is trying to get you to click on are both java.
Version currently installed is 1.5.0_6-b05

Looking in Internet Options the Home Page address say's "Are you at
least 18 years old".

I have an idea what he's been looking at (not me honest gov!)

This does not appear on Firefox, not quite sure why he's be using IE6.0.

Keith (Southend)
http://www.southendweather.net


keith (Southend_2)
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 09:20 PM   #2
Sebastian Gottschalk
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: What's this ?
keith (Southend_2) wrote:
> http://64.62.228.94/privacySMP.asp?xP03
>
> This seems to be the default page on IE6.0 on my boys computer. Before I
> remove it / change the home page back to google, can anyone add anything
> to wat it's all about, as it's a bit suspicious to me?


A bit? It's classical scam.

> The two links which it is trying to get you to click on are both java.
> Version currently installed is 1.5.0_6-b05


Oh well, please get 1.5.0_7.

> I have an idea what he's been looking at (not me honest gov!)


And I have an idea who's system is compromised and should be
approciately treaten.

> This does not appear on Firefox, not quite sure why he's be using IE6.0.


For the same reason as about 40% of the other kiddiots - they don't know
how to differ between a webbrowser and an ActiveX Rich Platform Client.


Sebastian Gottschalk
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 09:32 PM   #3
keith (Southend_2)
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: What's this ?
Sebastian Gottschalk wrote:
> keith (Southend_2) wrote:
>
>>http://64.62.228.94/privacySMP.asp?xP03
>>
>>This seems to be the default page on IE6.0 on my boys computer. Before I
>>remove it / change the home page back to google, can anyone add anything
>>to wat it's all about, as it's a bit suspicious to me?

>
>
> A bit? It's classical scam.
>
>
>>The two links which it is trying to get you to click on are both java.
>>Version currently installed is 1.5.0_6-b05

>
>
> Oh well, please get 1.5.0_7.
>
>
>>I have an idea what he's been looking at (not me honest gov!)

>
>
> And I have an idea who's system is compromised and should be
> approciately treaten.
>
>
>>This does not appear on Firefox, not quite sure why he's be using IE6.0.

>
>
> For the same reason as about 40% of the other kiddiots - they don't know
> how to differ between a webbrowser and an ActiveX Rich Platform Client.


Thanks Sebastian. Java now version 7. Google now homepage, plus I
removed all the tempoerary internet files and cookies just for the sake
of it

Keith (Southend)
http://www.southendweather.net


keith (Southend_2)
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2 ©2009, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46