Velocity Reviews - Computer Hardware Reviews

Velocity Reviews > Newsgroups > Computing > Computer Security > Falkag and Akamai

Reply
Thread Tools

Falkag and Akamai

 
 
aniramca@yahoo.com
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-18-2006
Using Google search engine, sometimes I found that flashing addresses
showing at the bottom of the screen make connections to Akamai or
Falkag. What do these two companies do? I believe that Akamai is
somewhere from the Eastern part of USA, and Falkag from Germany? Are
they the companies which look around or track you down on what
preferences that you have as you seach through the internet? are they
paid by advertisement companies?
Just curious!

 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Stacey
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-18-2006
<> wrote in message
news: oups.com...
> Using Google search engine, sometimes I found that flashing addresses
> showing at the bottom of the screen make connections to Akamai or
> Falkag. What do these two companies do? I believe that Akamai is
> somewhere from the Eastern part of USA, and Falkag from Germany? Are
> they the companies which look around or track you down on what
> preferences that you have as you seach through the internet? are they
> paid by advertisement companies?
> Just curious!



I haven't the slightest idea. But have you looked these companies up with a
search. Then you should figure it out that way. Now as far as flashing
adverts(which Google doesn't use) I think you might have some adware on your
computer.

Stacey

--
Rustic Decor - http://crookedcreekcountry.com
Father - http://allgiftshop.net/occasion-gift...-day-gifts.htm
All Occasion Gifts for The Family- http://allgiftshop.net/
Graduation http://allgiftshop.net/special-gifts...tion-gifts.htm


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Georgie
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-18-2006
Akamai is kind of a hosting compnay for big traffic websites, loads of big
companies use them to mirror data. Don't worry about them. Dont know what
falkag is, could be the same idea


"Stacey" <Remove-the-Y-> wrote in message
news:e747nh$9an$02$...
> <> wrote in message
> news: oups.com...
>> Using Google search engine, sometimes I found that flashing addresses
>> showing at the bottom of the screen make connections to Akamai or
>> Falkag. What do these two companies do? I believe that Akamai is
>> somewhere from the Eastern part of USA, and Falkag from Germany? Are
>> they the companies which look around or track you down on what
>> preferences that you have as you seach through the internet? are they
>> paid by advertisement companies?
>> Just curious!

>
>
> I haven't the slightest idea. But have you looked these companies up with
> a search. Then you should figure it out that way. Now as far as flashing
> adverts(which Google doesn't use) I think you might have some adware on
> your computer.
>
> Stacey
>
> --
> Rustic Decor - http://crookedcreekcountry.com
> Father - http://allgiftshop.net/occasion-gift...-day-gifts.htm
> All Occasion Gifts for The Family- http://allgiftshop.net/
> Graduation http://allgiftshop.net/special-gifts...tion-gifts.htm
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
rajmicro78@gmail.com
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-19-2006
Falkag is same as google adword and google adsense.
Georgie wrote:
> Akamai is kind of a hosting compnay for big traffic websites, loads of big
> companies use them to mirror data. Don't worry about them. Dont know what
> falkag is, could be the same idea
>
>
> "Stacey" <Remove-the-Y-> wrote in message
> news:e747nh$9an$02$...
> > <> wrote in message
> > news: oups.com...
> >> Using Google search engine, sometimes I found that flashing addresses
> >> showing at the bottom of the screen make connections to Akamai or
> >> Falkag. What do these two companies do? I believe that Akamai is
> >> somewhere from the Eastern part of USA, and Falkag from Germany? Are
> >> they the companies which look around or track you down on what
> >> preferences that you have as you seach through the internet? are they
> >> paid by advertisement companies?
> >> Just curious!

> >
> >
> > I haven't the slightest idea. But have you looked these companies up with
> > a search. Then you should figure it out that way. Now as far as flashing
> > adverts(which Google doesn't use) I think you might have some adware on
> > your computer.
> >
> > Stacey
> >
> > --
> > Rustic Decor - http://crookedcreekcountry.com
> > Father - http://allgiftshop.net/occasion-gift...-day-gifts.htm
> > All Occasion Gifts for The Family- http://allgiftshop.net/
> > Graduation http://allgiftshop.net/special-gifts...tion-gifts.htm
> >


 
Reply With Quote
 
Todd H.
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      06-19-2006
writes:
> Using Google search engine, sometimes I found that flashing addresses
> showing at the bottom of the screen make connections to Akamai or
> Falkag. What do these two companies do? I believe that Akamai is
> somewhere from the Eastern part of USA, and Falkag from Germany? Are
> they the companies which look around or track you down on what
> preferences that you have as you seach through the internet? are they
> paid by advertisement companies?
> Just curious!


Akamai is not to feared, really. They're a clever caching and content
delivery and load balancing service that mirrors data for large web
sites and delivers data to ya quickly by feeding you data from servers
that are "near" to your IP address. So, if you're in say, Indiana
USA, akamai's technology feeds you a google IP address that
corresponds to a server that's near you in Indiana so your data comes
quicker than say, if it were all served off a central server.

More here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Akamai


--
Todd H.
http://www.toddh.net/
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AKAMAI Technologies? Patrick Sullivan Computer Security 24 06-23-2012 12:42 PM
Akamai Technologies stealing your bandwidth? Randy Computer Security 6 04-11-2008 04:32 PM
if and and vs if and,and titi VHDL 4 03-11-2007 05:23 AM
akamai-update.microsoft.com? Jane Doe Computer Security 2 08-22-2003 03:46 PM



Advertisments
 



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57