![]() |
|
|
|||||||
![]() |
Computer Security - latest virus going the rounds |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|
#1 |
|
I see theres one today claiming to be from the FBI and including a
'checked for virus's line customised to your XYZ named ISP <quote> Dear Sir/Madam, we have logged your IP-address on more than 40 illegal Websites. Important: Please answer our questions! The list of questions are attached. Yours faithfully, M. John Stellford ++-++ Federal Bureau of Investigation -FBI- ++-++ 935 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Room 2130 ++-++ Washington, DC 20535 ++-++ (202) 324-3000 *-* AntiVirus: Found to be clean *-* "XYZ" Anti-Virus Service *-* http://www.xyz.net </unquote> Anyone know what its called? mine are all defused by a real AV program. Hope they take the time to trace the author. -- Jim Watt http://www.gibnet.com Jim Watt |
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
Apart from a news report, I can't see it mentioned anywhere else, let alone
in virus alerts. -- Ken Russell Remove yourhat to reply by e-mail .. "Jim Watt" <_way> wrote in message news >I see theres one today claiming to be from the FBI and including a > 'checked for virus's line customised to your XYZ named ISP > > <quote> > Dear Sir/Madam, > > we have logged your IP-address on more than 40 illegal Websites. > > Important: Please answer our questions! > The list of questions are attached. > > Yours faithfully, > M. John Stellford > > ++-++ Federal Bureau of Investigation -FBI- > ++-++ 935 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Room 2130 > ++-++ Washington, DC 20535 > ++-++ (202) 324-3000 > > *-* AntiVirus: Found to be clean > *-* "XYZ" Anti-Virus Service > *-* http://www.xyz.net > </unquote> > > Anyone know what its called? mine are all defused by a real AV > program. Hope they take the time to trace the author. > -- > Jim Watt > http://www.gibnet.com Ken Russell |
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
"Jim Watt" <_way> wrote in message news > I see theres one today claiming to be from the FBI and including a > 'checked for virus's line customised to your XYZ named ISP > > <quote> > Dear Sir/Madam, > > we have logged your IP-address on more than 40 illegal Websites. > Anyone know what its called? mine are all defused by a real AV > program. Hope they take the time to trace the author. Yadda, yadda ;o) I might be "lucky", but these all started about six weeks ago. All of mine have also an attachment (didn't check to see /which/ virus, though) All are, of course, bogus. -- Hairy One Kenobi Disclaimer: the opinions expressed in this opinion do not necessarily reflect the opinions of the highly-opinionated person expressing the opinion in the first place. So there! Hairy One Kenobi |
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
On Sun, 27 Feb 2005 23:28:48 GMT, "Hairy One Kenobi"
<abuse@[127.0.0.1]> wrote: <snip> >All are, of course, bogus. No, really However its quite well done. I even got an original variation on the Nigerian letter last week, but the six year old kid with cancer collecting cards seems to have passed on. -- Jim Watt http://www.gibnet.com Jim Watt |
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
"Jim Watt" <_way> wrote in message
news:... > On Sun, 27 Feb 2005 23:28:48 GMT, "Hairy One Kenobi" > <abuse@[127.0.0.1]> wrote: > > <snip> > > >All are, of course, bogus. > > No, really > > However its quite well done. > > I even got an original variation on the Nigerian letter last week, > but the six year old kid with cancer collecting cards seems to > have passed on. Had a similar one only this morning - a 419 for a cancer victim seeking to move $1m.... H1K Hairy One Kenobi |
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
On Mon, 28 Feb 2005 14:44:43 GMT, "Hairy One Kenobi"
<abuse@[127.0.0.1]> wrote: >"Jim Watt" <_way> wrote in message >news:.. . >> On Sun, 27 Feb 2005 23:28:48 GMT, "Hairy One Kenobi" >> <abuse@[127.0.0.1]> wrote: >> >> <snip> >> >> >All are, of course, bogus. >> >> No, really >> >> However its quite well done. >> >> I even got an original variation on the Nigerian letter last week, >> but the six year old kid with cancer collecting cards seems to >> have passed on. > >Had a similar one only this morning - a 419 for a cancer victim seeking to >move $1m.... I meant the 'craig shergold' variety; But this was the creative one I liked: "My name is Michael Doherty i am an American soldier, I am serving in the military of the 1st Armoured Division in Iraq, we have just been posted to leave Iraq and go back to Germany. I am now in Kuwait at the mean time, I and my superior moved funds belonging to Saddam Hussein, the total is $25,000,000.00 (Twenty Five million US dollars) this money is being kept safe in a security company." However, the point about the original spam is the act of impersonating the FBI is actually illegal in the US. -- Jim Watt http://www.gibnet.com Jim Watt |
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Posts: n/a
|
On Sat, 26 Feb 2005 02:22:28 +0100, Jim Watt <_way>
wrote: <snip> At the risk of being accused of replying to myself ... http://urbanlegends.about.com/library/bl_fbi_virus.htm describes the virus and the FBI reaction. However, it also indicates the speed of propagation of these things, as the (genuine) FBI warning about the hoax was dated 22nd. and the localised sample was dated 25th. -- Jim Watt http://www.gibnet.com Jim Watt |
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Beware of zCodec: it's malware | Jeff | DVD Video | 1 | 09-05-2006 02:27 AM |
| Manchester United Virus | Kenny | A+ Certification | 3 | 09-07-2004 07:41 PM |
| Re: Virus Problem ** Help!** | David BlandIII | A+ Certification | 1 | 03-02-2004 06:00 PM |
| Re: Virus Problem ** Help!** | jim6538980 | A+ Certification | 7 | 02-25-2004 04:39 PM |
| Re: Looking for Virus Removal Info | Ghost | A+ Certification | 0 | 07-25-2003 11:33 PM |