Go Back   Velocity Reviews > Newsgroups > Computer Security
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply

Computer Security - Threatening Virus

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-24-2004, 02:23 PM   #1
Default Threatening Virus


Oh my they are issuing threats in the name of the FBI now - would
sound more convincing if it were the RIAA or the Mafia.

This one just arrived to make a change from Nigerian offers etc.

<begin message text>

Content-Type: text/plain
Ladies and Gentlemen,
Downloading of Movies, MP3s and Software is illegal and punishable by
law.

We hereby inform you that your computer was scanned under the IP
193.182.67.75 . The contents of your computer were confiscated as an
evidence, and you will be indicated.
In the next days you will receive the charge in writing.
In the Reference code: #33910, are all files, that we found on your
computer.

The sender address of this mail was masked, to fend off mail bombs.


- You get more detailed information by the Federal Bureau of
Investigation -FBI-
- Department for "Illegal Internet Downloads", Room 7350
- 935 Pennsylvania Avenue
- Washington, DC 20535, USA
- (202) 324-3000

<end message>

From :
IP : 80.181.156.58
To : <my email address>
Subject : Preliminary investigation were started
Message-ID: <>
Attachment: refcode33910.scr

Message attachment stripped.

---
193.182.67.75 would seem to be someone in Sweden.

I think the FBI take exception to people pretending to be
them. Being indicated sounds painful.
--
Jim Watt http://www.gibnet.com


Jim Watt
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2004, 03:15 PM   #2
Mimic
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Threatening Virus

"Jim Watt" <_way> wrote in message
news:...
> Oh my they are issuing threats in the name of the FBI now - would
> sound more convincing if it were the RIAA or the Mafia.
>
> This one just arrived to make a change from Nigerian offers etc.
>
> <begin message text>
>
> Content-Type: text/plain
> Ladies and Gentlemen,
> Downloading of Movies, MP3s and Software is illegal and punishable by
> law.
>
> We hereby inform you that your computer was scanned under the IP
> 193.182.67.75 . The contents of your computer were confiscated as an
> evidence, and you will be indicated.
> In the next days you will receive the charge in writing.
> In the Reference code: #33910, are all files, that we found on your
> computer.
>
> The sender address of this mail was masked, to fend off mail bombs.
>
>
> - You get more detailed information by the Federal Bureau of
> Investigation -FBI-
> - Department for "Illegal Internet Downloads", Room 7350
> - 935 Pennsylvania Avenue
> - Washington, DC 20535, USA
> - (202) 324-3000
>
> <end message>
>
> From :
> IP : 80.181.156.58
> To : <my email address>
> Subject : Preliminary investigation were started
> Message-ID: <>
> Attachment: refcode33910.scr
>
> Message attachment stripped.
>
> ---
> 193.182.67.75 would seem to be someone in Sweden.
>
> I think the FBI take exception to people pretending to be
> them. Being indicated sounds painful.
> --
> Jim Watt http://www.gibnet.com


Yeah impersonating a federal whatever, is some serious **** hehe, they are
so
gunna get an ass raping

--
Mimic

"Without knowledge you have fear. With fear you create your own nightmares."
"There are 10 types of people in the world. Those that understand Binary,
and those that dont."
"He who controls Google, controls the world".



  Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2004, 06:21 PM   #3
Jim Watt
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Threatening Virus

On Sat, 24 Jan 2004 15:15:02 -0000, "Mimic"
<> wrote:

>> I think the FBI take exception to people pretending to be
>> them. Being indicated sounds painful.
>> --
>> Jim Watt http://www.gibnet.com

>
>Yeah impersonating a federal whatever, is some serious **** hehe, they are
>so gunna get an ass raping


Well if its really Italian they donna-giva-**** but if I had written
the template I would have mentioned the RIAA and Kazza to
scare people. And if anyone can scan my PC they are
pretty good not even tr...er could manage that ...
--
Jim Watt http://www.gibnet.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2004, 04:39 PM   #4
sonia mira castaño
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Threatening Virus

no, my computer station
"Jim Watt" <_way> escribió en el mensaje
news:...
> Oh my they are issuing threats in the name of the FBI now - would
> sound more convincing if it were the RIAA or the Mafia.
>
> This one just arrived to make a change from Nigerian offers etc.
>
> <begin message text>
>
> Content-Type: text/plain
> Ladies and Gentlemen,
> Downloading of Movies, MP3s and Software is illegal and punishable by
> law.
>
> We hereby inform you that your computer was scanned under the IP
> 193.182.67.75 . The contents of your computer were confiscated as an
> evidence, and you will be indicated.
> In the next days you will receive the charge in writing.
> In the Reference code: #33910, are all files, that we found on your
> computer.
>
> The sender address of this mail was masked, to fend off mail bombs.
>
>
> - You get more detailed information by the Federal Bureau of
> Investigation -FBI-
> - Department for "Illegal Internet Downloads", Room 7350
> - 935 Pennsylvania Avenue
> - Washington, DC 20535, USA
> - (202) 324-3000
>
> <end message>
>
> From :
> IP : 80.181.156.58
> To : <my email address>
> Subject : Preliminary investigation were started
> Message-ID: <>
> Attachment: refcode33910.scr
>
> Message attachment stripped.
>
> ---
> 193.182.67.75 would seem to be someone in Sweden.
>
> I think the FBI take exception to people pretending to be
> them. Being indicated sounds painful.
> --
> Jim Watt http://www.gibnet.com



  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump