Go Back   Velocity Reviews > Newsgroups > Computer Security
User Name
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply

Computer Security - akamai-update.microsoft.com?

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-20-2003, 05:19 PM   #1
Default akamai-update.microsoft.com?


After wiping my hard disk, reformating, and reinstalling windows, I
went to windowsupdate.microsoft.com to download security patches.

Although this worked without a hitch in the past, windows update just
scanned my system and failed to produce a catalog of required updates.
The progress indicator never went beyond 0%.

When I tried a second time, I was redirected to
http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/en/thanks.

After rebooting my computer, my hardware firewall blocked 3 encrypted
HTTPS connection attempts from my computer to 208.187.212.24,
208.187.212.25, and 208.187.212.153. These addresses all belong to
Akamai Technologies.

What kind of a scam is this?


Jane Doe
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2003, 02:11 PM   #2
Trog Dog
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: akamai-update.microsoft.com?

"Jane Doe" <> wrote in message
news: om...
> After wiping my hard disk, reformating, and reinstalling windows, I
> went to windowsupdate.microsoft.com to download security patches.
>
> Although this worked without a hitch in the past, windows update just
> scanned my system and failed to produce a catalog of required updates.
> The progress indicator never went beyond 0%.
>
> When I tried a second time, I was redirected to
> http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/en/thanks.
>
> After rebooting my computer, my hardware firewall blocked 3 encrypted
> HTTPS connection attempts from my computer to 208.187.212.24,
> 208.187.212.25, and 208.187.212.153. These addresses all belong to
> Akamai Technologies.
>
> What kind of a scam is this?


I have the Critical Updates Notifier installed on my PC, and received a
notification that there was a new critical update - DirectX 9. I chose to
install it. I was surprised after downloading the setup file (DXWSETUP.EXE)
when my firewall asked to approve a connection by this program to
www.fbi.gov .

I know both sites (download.microsoft.com and www.fbi.gov) run on Akamai
servers - is this just a DNS error or is the FBI hosting files for
Microsoft?

BTW, all this occurred before Blaster.




Trog Dog
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2003, 04:46 PM   #3
R Green - WoWsat.com
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: akamai-update.microsoft.com?
That is indeed very interesting. I wouldn't be surprised that the FBI
approached Microsoft to direct all of their traffic their way so that they
can monitor terrorist activities...MSN messenger, hotmails are quite
popular... so watch what you say boys and girls... I doubt the terrorists
would be stupid enough to send things unencrypted and coded anyways...

R Green
Technical Support
-------------------
WoWsat.com
-------------------

"Trog Dog" <> wrote in message
news:fEo1b.51894$...
>
> "Jane Doe" <> wrote in message
> news: om...
> > After wiping my hard disk, reformating, and reinstalling windows, I
> > went to windowsupdate.microsoft.com to download security patches.
> >
> > Although this worked without a hitch in the past, windows update just
> > scanned my system and failed to produce a catalog of required updates.
> > The progress indicator never went beyond 0%.
> >
> > When I tried a second time, I was redirected to
> > http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/en/thanks.
> >
> > After rebooting my computer, my hardware firewall blocked 3 encrypted
> > HTTPS connection attempts from my computer to 208.187.212.24,
> > 208.187.212.25, and 208.187.212.153. These addresses all belong to
> > Akamai Technologies.
> >
> > What kind of a scam is this?

>
> I have the Critical Updates Notifier installed on my PC, and received a
> notification that there was a new critical update - DirectX 9. I chose to
> install it. I was surprised after downloading the setup file

(DXWSETUP.EXE)
> when my firewall asked to approve a connection by this program to
> www.fbi.gov .
>
> I know both sites (download.microsoft.com and www.fbi.gov) run on Akamai
> servers - is this just a DNS error or is the FBI hosting files for
> Microsoft?
>
> BTW, all this occurred before Blaster.
>
>





R Green - WoWsat.com
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




SEO by vBSEO 3.3.2 ©2009, Crawlability, Inc.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46