![]() |
|
|
|||||||
![]() |
Computer Security - Re: "Best Buy Fraud" email scam |
|
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
|
|
#1 |
|
I recvd the same thing. I went to the lead page and looked around. Didn't
put any info out. I checked the headers of the original e-mail and it was coming from a hacked earthlink account. Earthlink denied everything. (as usual) A couple days later I recvd a real e-mail from best buy saying they were aware of the scam. I can only imagine how many people filled out the personal info and gave up their identity..... SS#, credit card #, DOB. etc..... My motto is; trust no one "NetItRight - Evan" <e#v!a_n?f@n~e^t&i*t(r)i!g{h}t.com> wrote in message news:3ef1bc3c$0$43847$. .. > Has anyone gotten an email similar to the one below. The email, and landing > page are extremely convincing.: > > > <<<<EMAIL>>>> > > Dear customer, > > Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card > information. > This order was made online at our official BestBuy website on 06/17/2003. > Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need > you to visit a special Fraud Department page at our web store where you can > confirm or decline this transaction by providing us with the correct > information. > This e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau. > > Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the > cause of the problem. > http://www.BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html > > ================================================== =================== > ORDER# 1095619 - STATUS: SUSPENDED > > ITEMS PURCHASED > ================================================== =================== > Item No: 73890 > CDA-9815 In-Dash CD Player/Ai-Changer Controller > Price: $387.65 Qty: 2 Total: $775.3 > -------------------------------------------------------------------------- -- > ------------------------ > The order listed above has not yet been processed. > The reason for the delay in processing your order is: > > - UNVERIFIED SHIPPING ADDRESS > > - Information provided: > Shipping > 41 WINHAM ST > Staten Island, NY 10306 > United States > phone# 206-337-9843 > > In our effort to deter fraudulent transactions, we need your help in > providing us with the correct information. Your prompt response is needed to > avoid any unauthorized charges to your credit card. > ================================================== =================== > Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the > cause of the problem. > http://www.BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html > > <<<<END EMAIL>>>> > > The scam is simple, but I think could be very effective. Yesterday I got > this email. The link wasn't to BestBuy.com, but to > http://www.digitalgamma.com/fraud.html. When you go to the link, you are on > a page that looks exactly like the BestBuy site, and asks for information to > prove that you either approve (yeah, right!) or disapprove the transaction > mentioned. I didn't proceed any further than the landing page because I was > sure to be asked for personal information. I haven't seen this one in > particular, but I would suspect that there were/are a lot of people falling > for this. Another associate of mine got the same email overnight that went > to somewhere like instantcredit.com. Being that I personally know two > people who have gotten the email, I suspect it's probably pretty widespread > now. i couldn't find anything in any Google searches related, but I coulda > missed something. > > This is all just FYI. > A man tryin' to make a contribution. > > cleaner |
|
|