Velocity Reviews - Computer Hardware Reviews

Velocity Reviews > Newsgroups > Computing > Digital Photography > trickster on eBay Auction Site - WARNING

Reply
Thread Tools

trickster on eBay Auction Site - WARNING

 
 
rene maark
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-04-2003
Have a look at eBay auction site:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=2944253726

this site is a tricksterīs site - Warning.
maark


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Lucas Tam
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-04-2003
"rene maark" <> wrote in news:bgmbh9$17t4$:

> Have a look at eBay auction site:
> http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=2944253726
>
> this site is a tricksterīs site - Warning.
> maark
>
>


Where's the trickster part?

--
Lucas Tam ()
Please delete "REMOVE" from the e-mail address when replying.
http://members.ebay.com/aboutme/coolspot18/
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
George Kerby
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-04-2003
On 8/4/03 3:23 PM, in article Xns93CDA6B61DF64nntprogerscom@140.99.99.130,
"Lucas Tam" <> wrote:

> "rene maark" <> wrote in news:bgmbh9$17t4$:
>
>> Have a look at eBay auction site:
>> http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=2944253726
>>
>> this site is a tricksterīs site - Warning.
>> maark
>>
>>

>
> Where's the trickster part?

I would imagine that the combination of pre-approval of bidders and Euro
1,100 opening bid for a pretty lousy c amera and a bunch of junky
accessories would qualify. That's about 1,250 US. Considering all the crap
accessories (microdrive exception), is the camera worth a thousand US
dollars?


__________________________________________________ ____________________
Posted Via Uncensored-News.Com - Still Only $9.95 - http://www.uncensored-news.com
<><><><><><><> The Worlds Uncensored News Source <><><><><><><><>

 
Reply With Quote
 
Lucas Tam
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-04-2003
George Kerby <> wrote in news:BB542EB1.11461%
:

> That's about 1,250 US. Considering all the crap
> accessories (microdrive exception), is the camera worth a thousand US
> dollars?
>


Doesn't the S2 retail for 2000+USD?

--
Lucas Tam ()
Please delete "REMOVE" from the e-mail address when replying.
http://members.ebay.com/aboutme/coolspot18/
 
Reply With Quote
 
Jim Townsend
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-04-2003
rene maark wrote:

> Have a look at eBay auction site:
> http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=2944253726
>
> this site is a tricksterīs site - Warning.
> maark


Gee rene.. This is the fourth eBay auction you've identified as 'fraudulent'
without providing a *hint* of a reason why.

I'm not even going to bother reading this site. How about *sharing* the reason
you think this person is a trickster ?

Or are you having fun just wasting everyone's time:

You refer people to an auction that has a *lot* of text to read. People go
there, carefully read through it then take guesses at what could be bad.. You
sit on the sidelines chuckling at their futile efforts because you know
there's nothing wrong in the first place.

(Is this close to what you're up to) ?


 
Reply With Quote
 
Tony Spadaro
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-04-2003
He tricked you into going there didn't he?

Ebay abuse

Ebay contact, including SPAM complaints:
http://pages.ebay.com/help/basics/select-RS.html

UseNet SPAM policy:
http://pages.ebay.com/help/usenet_policy.html

Be sure to include all headers.


--
http://www.chapelhillnoir.com
home of The Camera-ist's Manifesto
The Improved Links Pages are at
http://www.chapelhillnoir.com/links/mlinks00.html
New email - Contact on the Menyou page.
"Lucas Tam" <> wrote in message
news:Xns93CDAE29A1CB2nntprogerscom@140.99.99.130.. .
> George Kerby <> wrote in news:BB542EB1.11461%
> :
>
> > That's about 1,250 US. Considering all the crap
> > accessories (microdrive exception), is the camera worth a thousand US
> > dollars?
> >

>
> Doesn't the S2 retail for 2000+USD?
>
> --
> Lucas Tam ()
> Please delete "REMOVE" from the e-mail address when replying.
> http://members.ebay.com/aboutme/coolspot18/



 
Reply With Quote
 
Les Johnstone
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-04-2003
Its not a bad deal for UK buyer, and they guy has a good rating - I don't
see a problem either, except with the guy who posted the fraud claim!

Les
"Jim Townsend" <> wrote in message
news:...
> rene maark wrote:
>
> > Have a look at eBay auction site:
> > http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=2944253726
> >
> > this site is a tricksterīs site - Warning.
> > maark

>
> Gee rene.. This is the fourth eBay auction you've identified as

'fraudulent'
> without providing a *hint* of a reason why.
>
> I'm not even going to bother reading this site. How about *sharing* the

reason
> you think this person is a trickster ?
>
> Or are you having fun just wasting everyone's time:
>
> You refer people to an auction that has a *lot* of text to read. People

go
> there, carefully read through it then take guesses at what could be bad..

You
> sit on the sidelines chuckling at their futile efforts because you know
> there's nothing wrong in the first place.
>
> (Is this close to what you're up to) ?
>
>



 
Reply With Quote
 
Jimmy
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-04-2003

"Lucas Tam" <> wrote in message
news:Xns93CDA6B61DF64nntprogerscom@140.99.99.130.. .
> "rene maark" <> wrote in news:bgmbh9$17t4$:
>
> > Have a look at eBay auction site:
> > http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=2944253726
> >
> > this site is a tricksterīs site - Warning.
> > maark
> >
> >

>
> Where's the trickster part?
>

I would be a bit leery. Take a look at previous sales. Shows dartgirl66 located near Atlantic
City, and accepts paypal, etc. Now selling in Euros, located in Spain, and free shipping within the
Netherlands. Past sales indicate dartgirl66 sells model cars, not cameras. Take a look at the
other listings.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=2944253294
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=2944253466
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=2944253934


 
Reply With Quote
 
Kirby
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-04-2003

"rene maark" <> wrote in message
news:bgmbh9$17t4$...
> Have a look at eBay auction site:
> http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...tem=2944253726
>
> this site is a tricksterīs site - Warning.
> maark


With a dial-up ISP, who in their right mind would wait till that page
loads? Good Grief!

 
Reply With Quote
 
DS
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-05-2003
"dartgirl's" positive feedback is based on sales of plastic model kits from
"near Atlantic City, New Jersey - USA. All are items worth a few dollars.
From one week ago, to today, "dartgirl" moves to Spain and initiates four
auctions for high end digital and video equipment??

Auction is limited to "pre-approved" buyers only. Contact the seller to try
to get on the list, and you'll find yourself pressured to purchase the
equipment outright, and make payment by Western Union. At that point,
you'll most certainly be out exactly the amount of money transfered.

You would then contact ebay, only to find out that "dartgirl" had her
account hi-jacked by some European criminal and is a victim, just like the
poor buyer. Dartgirl probably fell victim to one of those official looking
requests from requesting all of his/her account information.

This auction IS a scam, and follows EXACTLY a pattern of very similar
auctions over the past few weeks. To their credit, ebay has pulled the plug
on each of them, probably because someone like the original poster here
reported it to them. If you try the links to these auctions tomorrow,
you'll probably find that they have been cancelled.

Lighten up on the person posting the warning. He may well have saved some
poor fool a lot of money.

DS



 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ebay ebay ebay ebay ebay ebay ebay ebay ebay ebay ebay ebay ebay Bigbazza Computer Support 0 10-16-2007 09:05 AM
ebay ebay ebay Bigbazza Computer Support 0 10-16-2007 09:04 AM
The internet auction site eBay is in talks to buy net telephone company Skype {{{{{Welcome}}}}} UK VOIP 0 09-08-2005 01:27 PM
FA: Ebay Auction site has MASSIVE DVD lots for cheap Steve McNaughten DVD Video 1 11-12-2004 08:41 PM
tricksters on ebay auction - warning!! rene maark Digital Photography 1 08-06-2003 11:44 PM



Advertisments