On Sat, 15 Oct 2005 15:59:45 -0500, ellis_jay wrote:
>Is the value 244 default in a winxp registry? I had this in my registry
Funny question, I would worry less about the value and more about the
fact the key exists. If I had a loon on several PCs here I wouldn't
expect the key so can't tell about the value.
>(HKCU) but not the other registry key (HKLM) that indicates a downloader
>(according to a McAfee link).
'may create the key'
>http://www.headliner.org/headliner.p...65&abbr=mcafee
Try AV vendor sites directly, without going through pass-through links.
If you look for strings to id trojans etc, some site have descriptions
that are lists of matching words. However when you click on then you can
get hit by all sorts of junk. All they do is generate lots of words to
match all sorts of searches.
Always look at more then 1 AV site, Symantex , Sophos, F-Prot etc and
use a couple of different apps as vendors change the names about.
>
> I have yet to search the files/dll's.
>Downloader-AFP
The next bit is the paste from the article and not confirmation you have
both registry entries or the other bits?
Check first.
As it mentions Browser Objects, have a look at HijackThis , search
previous posts in 24HSHD.
>HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\International\Geo\Nation : Value="244"
>
>a.. HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\
>CurrentVersion\Run\down: "MSXMIDI.EXE"
>
<snip>
Not what you want , knowing what might be but what you need to check.
Another way to tell is run some sort of registry monitor, I have
teaTimer and can monitor / allow / disallow registry changes. It does
help.
I snipped the IP address the trojan uses, but if you have the full
trojan and not only some bits, your firewall should perhaps be stopping
it or even logging the IP. You can check that as well.
>-=-=-
>The following is as far as I got at Google. Looks Greek to me!!
Looks like you need to practice Google searches a bit. The URL below
jumps to line 244 of the C source code of a VCS (version control system,
called subversion) utility. Why? Because they have hyperlinks for each
line and Google indexed those.
So ignore it.
>
>http://www.endrun.org/xr/svn/source/....c?v=1.0.x#244
>
>I will know more when I search my computer for the files and dll's. Am I
>correct in asuming both registry keys must be present and the 244 is
>default? Or may it (244) be a leftover from sometime in the past? What to
>do?
See the list of AV scanners, Anti-Spyware tools posted oftem by Mike and
others. I reposeted it within the last 3 or 4 days as well. Search
24HSHD for - mike housecall
Your better google search would be -
Downloader-AFP , as you mentioned at the beginning

and the exe file
name as well.
Quite a few hits, try these few below.
http://forums.spywareinfo.com/lofive...hp/t10735.html
http://castlecops.com/s5777-MSXMIDI_EXE.html
The exe file name at sophos
http://www.sophos.com/search/index.c...&action=search
Me