Velocity Reviews - Computer Hardware Reviews

Velocity Reviews > Newsgroups > Computing > Computer Support > Online Banking scam

Reply
Thread Tools

Online Banking scam

 
 
Artiflect
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11-12-2004
Hello all,

I've received an email from some company claiming that "my" online banking
account has been compromised and I need to click on the link to change the
settings. For one I know it's a scam because I never use my Hotmail account
for online banking email address.

Now the so called bank that needs my input is "Washington Mutual Banking".
I know for a fact it is a con (the email anyway) because I'm from the UK and
don't use that bank (as I think its from the US).

The IP address in the headers is 66.205.198.2

Is it possible to trace who the ISP is for this IP address, as I would like
to forward the email onto them for them to take the necessary (if any)
procedure to prevent this scam from continuing.

Regards,


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Toolman Tim
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11-12-2004
Washington Mutual Bank is indeed in the US - the Pacific Northwest,
specifically. Their website is www.wamu.com. You can find info here
http://www.wamu.com/personal/welcome....htm#emailscam on how to
report the scam.


"Artiflect" <> wrote in message
news:41941e8f$0$536$...
| Hello all,
|
| I've received an email from some company claiming that "my" online banking
| account has been compromised and I need to click on the link to change the
| settings. For one I know it's a scam because I never use my Hotmail
account
| for online banking email address.
|
| Now the so called bank that needs my input is "Washington Mutual Banking".
| I know for a fact it is a con (the email anyway) because I'm from the UK
and
| don't use that bank (as I think its from the US).
|
| The IP address in the headers is 66.205.198.2
|
| Is it possible to trace who the ISP is for this IP address, as I would
like
| to forward the email onto them for them to take the necessary (if any)
| procedure to prevent this scam from continuing.
|
| Regards,
|
|


 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Dr. Harvie Wahl-Banghor
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      11-12-2004
I was walking down the street, minding my own business, when on Fri,
12 Nov 2004 02:23:18 -0000, "Artiflect"
<> screamed from behind the mulberry
bush:

>Hello all,
>
>I've received an email from some company claiming that "my" online banking
>account has been compromised and I need to click on the link to change the
>settings. For one I know it's a scam because I never use my Hotmail account
>for online banking email address.
>
>Now the so called bank that needs my input is "Washington Mutual Banking".
>I know for a fact it is a con (the email anyway) because I'm from the UK and
>don't use that bank (as I think its from the US).
>
>The IP address in the headers is 66.205.198.2
>
>Is it possible to trace who the ISP is for this IP address, as I would like
>to forward the email onto them for them to take the necessary (if any)
>procedure to prevent this scam from continuing.
>
>Regards,
>


http://www.arin.net

Search results for: 66.205.198.2


OrgName: E Broadband Now Inc.
OrgID: EBNI
Address: 55 Marietta St
Address: Suite 350
City: Atlanta
StateProv: GA
PostalCode: 30308
Country: US

NetRange: 66.205.192.0 - 66.205.223.255
CIDR: 66.205.192.0/19
NetName: CETNETWORKS9
NetHandle: NET-66-205-192-0-1
Parent: NET-66-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: NS1.CETNETWORKS.COM
NameServer: NS2.CETNETWORKS.COM
Comment:
RegDate: 2001-12-14
Updated: 2003-08-20

TechHandle: ZE63-ARIN
TechName: Ebroadbandnow.com
TechPhone: +1-650-743-8599
TechEmail:

OrgTechHandle: JKE24-ARIN
OrgTechName: Ketchersid, John
OrgTechPhone: +1-770-908-0075
OrgTechEmail:

# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2004-11-11 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.

You can also use http://www.geektools.com and get the info from their
whois. Since I don't know where exactly you pulled the IP address
from the headers, this is more less speculative that it originated
there. More likely it was relayed through an open server or
compromised Windows PC hooked up to high speed access. Have fun with
it. I always go there and fill them out with user names like
****youscammer and a password of eatshitanddie.

Dr Harvie Wahl-Banghor
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cash4gold Scam Ripoffreport.com Scam maryr345@live.com Digital Photography 3 05-05-2012 04:46 AM
Can't Confirm Banking Transfers- Online Banking Bank of America (Firefox1.0) totsob Firefox 1 10-22-2004 10:19 PM
Firefox and online banking Hilary A Croughton Firefox 7 07-30-2004 02:00 PM
Best online banking interface? Mark. NZ Computing 22 10-04-2003 07:49 AM



Advertisments