Velocity Reviews - Computer Hardware Reviews

Velocity Reviews > General Computer Discussion > Case Modding > The Volcano

The Volcano

07-01-2005
This build is about 7-8 months old and no it's not godly because I was (and still am) on an incredibly tight budget.
AMD "Barton" 3200+ XP (OC'd to 2.4)
Asus A7n8X-E Deluxe Mobo
2x256 Corsair XMS RAM Dual Channel
1x256 Corsair XMS RAM
MSI nVidia FX5900 XT (minor OC to 424mhz core clock)
80gig S-ATA
80gig ATA-100 HD (Got for free from my Physics Teacher)
Thermaltake Volcano 9 Heatsink
Samsung DVD-R/RW
MSI CD-R
Rosewill Case
Logitech 5.1 Surround
The cathode has recently burned out (I think I broke it) and I've done a significant amount of wire management, it's just not seen here.
Also, this is my first build, the other computer is my friend's computer that he had built about a month before I built mine, he has very similar specs just a 3000 processor, 256 less ram, and a 9600 video card, not sure about his heatsink or hard drives.

comments?
*edit* for the WM, I ziptied almost all the cables together, ended up getting rid of a splitter that wasn't even really needed, tucked away all the excess into spare drive bays, and sliced my IDE cables then then ziptied them to make them round. I also have currently relocated my SATA hard drive to the cages on the bottom, and I cut out the case USB/Audio cables (huge grey ones).

07-02-2005
Me no like the Red cathode on sideways....
oh yer and never try to RMA Asus A7n8X-E Deluxe Mobo quickly!!!

07-02-2005
Yeah, the cathode is gone now so... I was an idiot for putting it there. If I do ever get a new one I'll be mounting it above or below the window so it won't be so bright and ugly. Considering getting a new window and tinting it red.

07-02-2005
WM needs a lot of work...

07-02-2005
get some tape or cable ties... and tap it back and hold it together... my friend has like nothing in his case... one cable tie fixed it all

07-03-2005