Velocity Reviews - Computer Hardware Reviews

Velocity Reviews > Newsgroups > Programming > HTML > Domain Registering Companies Reserving Domain Names

Reply
Thread Tools

Domain Registering Companies Reserving Domain Names

 
 
AF
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-22-2004
Has anyone else noticed this:

3 times now, I have gone out for a client and did a whois search at my
domain registration company, which for now wil remain unnamed.

Within a week of searching for several unused domain names, my clients
decided on a domin name, which we then tried to register.

Going back to register one of the names I found, I discovered the
domain name was now "available for sale to the highest bidder."

Is my domain registration company cheating here?

Has anyone else seen this?

Thanks.
best regards,

Al

http://www.discountdrivingschool.com
http://autowarranty.compserver.com
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
WebcastMaker
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-22-2004
In article <>, bscinc3000
@NOSPAMYahoo.com says...
> Has anyone else noticed this.....

If the scenario you mention is true (with no embellishment in your
story) then I would get a lawyer, and document it happening, then shut
them down because what they are doing is illegal (in the states)

--
WebcastMaker
Webcasting for free
http://www.webentations.com
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Kim André Akerĝ
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-22-2004
"AF" <> skrev i melding
news:...
> Has anyone else noticed this:
>
> 3 times now, I have gone out for a client and did a whois search at my
> domain registration company, which for now wil remain unnamed.
>
> Within a week of searching for several unused domain names, my clients
> decided on a domin name, which we then tried to register.
>
> Going back to register one of the names I found, I discovered the
> domain name was now "available for sale to the highest bidder."
>
> Is my domain registration company cheating here?
>
> Has anyone else seen this?


First of all, I don't know why you're posting this in alt.html. I've added
alt.domain-name.disputes and alt.www.webmaster in case someone in the latter
might know better.

Furthermore, it would seem that the domain registration company is cheating.
I can't know for sure, since you're not exactly providing a lot of
information here (no examples of domain names this has happened to and no
information about who your domain registrar is). Check the domain names
again - if the "domain name for sale to the highest bidder" page belongs to
your domain registration company, then they are certainly cheating. And if
this is the case, I suggest you switch now (ie. transfer all of your domain
names to a more reputable company).

And, of course, if the domain names are trademarks for your client, bring
the domain registrar to court.
http://www.icann.org/udrp/

--
Kim André Akerĝ
-
(remove NOSPAM to contact me directly)


 
Reply With Quote
 
Ken
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-22-2004
Hi Al -

On Sun, 22 Aug 2004 02:45:11 GMT, AF <>
wrote:

>Has anyone else seen this?


I haven't experienced it but I've heard about the same thing from
other people.

I recommend NOT looking up domains at your registrar's website.

I look up domain information at https://onewhois.securenow.com/

--
Ken
http://www.ke9nr.net/
 
Reply With Quote
 
Augustus
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-22-2004

"WebcastMaker" <> wrote in message
news:.. .
> In article <>, bscinc3000
> @NOSPAMYahoo.com says...
> > Has anyone else noticed this.....

> If the scenario you mention is true (with no embellishment in your
> story) then I would get a lawyer, and document it happening, then shut
> them down because what they are doing is illegal (in the states)


Being Canadian I am not familiar with US law... what law would make this
illegal? What would it fall under?

Just want to keep track of these things, of what is and isn't actually
legal... the last few months people have really been throwing around the
whole "its illegal" thing, when in reality "its unethical, but perfectly
legal"

Just want to keep track of these things... of what is and isn't actually
legal. The past few months people have really been throwing around the
whole "its illegal" thing, when in reality they are just guessing and the
truth of the matter is "it may be unethical, but perfectly legal"


 
Reply With Quote
 
Wayne...
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-22-2004
Yeah I've experienced it myself. As you'll know it's a simple matter to log
all searches for anything and use that information and domains are no
different. Personally I think the whole situation stinks and any company
found doing this should have the right to sell domains revoked.

Whats the point on having a system such as domain names where if you are
lucky or clever enough you can come up with a great name, only for a
company to unethically use your search [and maybe other people with a
similar idea] to register it themselves in the hope of making money!
As I said - IT STINKS!

Wayne...


 
Reply With Quote
 
WebcastMaker
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-22-2004
In article <>,
says...
> Being Canadian I am not familiar with US law... what law would make this
> illegal? What would it fall under?


Depending on what you were trying to register (is the name a trademark?)
it would fall under either the cyber-squating law Clinton signed, or
racketeering laws which prohibit a company from unfairly using
information provided to them in good faith to extort money from a
company.

Talking to a lawyer is your best advice.
--
WebcastMaker
Webcasting for free
http://www.webentations.com
 
Reply With Quote
 
Adrienne
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-23-2004
Gazing into my crystal ball I observed WebcastMaker <>
writing in news::

> In article <>,
> says...
>> Being Canadian I am not familiar with US law... what law would make
>> this illegal? What would it fall under?

>
> Depending on what you were trying to register (is the name a
> trademark?) it would fall under either the cyber-squating law Clinton
> signed, or racketeering laws which prohibit a company from unfairly
> using information provided to them in good faith to extort money from a
> company.
>
> Talking to a lawyer is your best advice.


Thank you, thank you, thank you! I am going to contact a lawyer. My
domain name is being held hostage by some outfit in England and they want
to charge me $350.00US.

--
Adrienne Boswell
Please respond to the group so others can share
 
Reply With Quote
 
Chrissy Cruiser
Guest
Posts: n/a
 
      08-23-2004
On Mon, 23 Aug 2004 06:17:46 GMT, Adrienne wrote:

> Thank you, thank you, thank you! I am going to contact a lawyer. My
> domain name is being held hostage by some outfit in England and they want
> to charge me $350.00US.


In the last few years, a band named Jethro Tull wanted to acquire/remove a
website www.jethrotull.com since it contained porn. Ian Anderson sued in an
international court and not only won the URL but a judgment against the
owner for $20K?or so.

http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/deci...2000-0475.html
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re: registering/re-registering ASP.NET 1.1.4322 with IIS Juan T. Llibre ASP .Net 2 12-16-2006 12:29 AM
what cost for registering a .net, .com, or .org domain names via a NZ company? Bling Bling NZ Computing 7 10-21-2005 05:07 AM



Advertisments
 



1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57