Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Python (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f43-python.html)
-   -   Re: using split for a string : error (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t956881-re-using-split-for-a-string-error.html)

Tobias M. 01-24-2013 11:16 AM

Re: using split for a string : error
 
Chris Angelico wrote:
>
>
> The other thing you may want to consider, if the values are supposed
> to be integers, is to convert them to Python integers before
> comparing. Currently, you're working with strings. Replace this:
>
> if sp[9] == sp[10]:
>
> with this:
>
> if int(sp[9]) == int(sp[10]):

I thought of this too and I wonder if there are any major differences
regarding performance compared to using the strip() method when parsing
large files.

In addition I guess one should catch the ValueError that might be raised
by the cast if there is something else than a number in the file.


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.