Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   HTML (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f31-html.html)
-   -   Re: Stupid question (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t949139-re-stupid-question.html)

richard 08-06-2012 06:14 AM

Re: Stupid question
 
On Sun, 05 Aug 2012 22:12:18 -0700, Robert Baer wrote:

> Out of context code snippet first:
> ** QUOTE **
> <div class="clear"></div>
> <div class="slider">
> <div class="flexslider">
> <ul class="slides">
> <li class="sl1">
> <!--[if lt IE 11]>
> <img src="images/SLIDER1.JPG" alt="Codatron&trade;">
> <![else]
> <img src="images/Codatron.png" alt="Codatron&trade;">
> <![endif]-->
> <div class="caption">
> <div class="text1"></div>
> <div class="text2">Codatron&trade; Regulator</div>
> <p>Our regulator is so quiet that the charge amplifiers used
> with the photomultipliers need no shielding during bench testing.</p>
> <a href="index-3.html">Read More</a>
> </div>
> </li>
> <!--[if lt IE 11]>
> <li class="sl2">
> <img src="images/SLIDER2.JPG" alt="RoHS">
> <div class="caption">
> <div class="text1">Reduction of</div>
> <div class="text2">Hazardous Substances</div>
> <p>All of our high voltage regulators were
> ** END QUOTE **
> If i edit out all of the IF..ENDIF code and use only one of the <img
> src="images/etc lines, it "works" reasonably well.
> That is to say most browsers more-or-less renders the code as one
> might like (am ignoring that the width goes from the desired 800DPI to
> as much as 1000DPI and shuffles image and text blocks around).
> Q:
> Why does that added code alter how the browser renders things (by
> hiding the top image and related text)?


I see it like this:
I don't give a damn about how any browser displays things.
As long as my code validates, and it functions the way I want, I'm done.
I'm not going to satisfy every browser out there.

M$ and AOL have their own little worlds they play in and they don't give a
damn about any rules but their own.

Hell,I'd like to use visual basic on my sites but I can't because VB only
works in IE. Because nobody else recognizes it.

richard 08-06-2012 09:50 AM

Re: Stupid question
 
On Mon, 06 Aug 2012 01:48:01 -0700, Robert Baer wrote:

> richard wrote:
>> On Sun, 05 Aug 2012 22:12:18 -0700, Robert Baer wrote:
>>
>>> Out of context code snippet first:
>>> ** QUOTE **
>>> <div class="clear"></div>
>>> <div class="slider">
>>> <div class="flexslider">
>>> <ul class="slides">
>>> <li class="sl1">
>>> <!--[if lt IE 11]>
>>> <img src="images/SLIDER1.JPG" alt="Codatron&trade;">
>>> <![else]
>>> <img src="images/Codatron.png" alt="Codatron&trade;">
>>> <![endif]-->
>>> <div class="caption">
>>> <div class="text1"></div>
>>> <div class="text2">Codatron&trade; Regulator</div>
>>> <p>Our regulator is so quiet that the charge amplifiers used
>>> with the photomultipliers need no shielding during bench testing.</p>
>>> <a href="index-3.html">Read More</a>
>>> </div>
>>> </li>
>>> <!--[if lt IE 11]>
>>> <li class="sl2">
>>> <img src="images/SLIDER2.JPG" alt="RoHS">
>>> <div class="caption">
>>> <div class="text1">Reduction of</div>
>>> <div class="text2">Hazardous Substances</div>
>>> <p>All of our high voltage regulators were
>>> ** END QUOTE **
>>> If i edit out all of the IF..ENDIF code and use only one of the<img
>>> src="images/etc lines, it "works" reasonably well.
>>> That is to say most browsers more-or-less renders the code as one
>>> might like (am ignoring that the width goes from the desired 800DPI to
>>> as much as 1000DPI and shuffles image and text blocks around).
>>> Q:
>>> Why does that added code alter how the browser renders things (by
>>> hiding the top image and related text)?

>>
>> I see it like this:
>> I don't give a damn about how any browser displays things.
>> As long as my code validates, and it functions the way I want, I'm done.
>> I'm not going to satisfy every browser out there.
>>
>> M$ and AOL have their own little worlds they play in and they don't give a
>> damn about any rules but their own.
>>
>> Hell,I'd like to use visual basic on my sites but I can't because VB only
>> works in IE. Because nobody else recognizes it.

> Well, now if you had a website and would like to attract potential
> customers, your attitude would change a whole lot, especially when you
> discover that various well-used browsers were screwing up the image you
> want to present.


show me the actual web page and I'll give you a better answer.

Tim W 08-08-2012 10:16 AM

Re: Stupid question
 
On 06/08/2012 09:48, Robert Baer wrote:
> richard wrote:
>> On Sun, 05 Aug 2012 22:12:18 -0700, Robert Baer wrote:
>>
>>> Out of context code snippet first:
>>> ** QUOTE **
>>> <div class="clear"></div>
>>> <div class="slider">
>>> <div class="flexslider">
>>> <ul class="slides">
>>> <li class="sl1">
>>> <!--[if lt IE 11]>
>>> <img src="images/SLIDER1.JPG" alt="Codatron&trade;">
>>> <![else]
>>> <img src="images/Codatron.png" alt="Codatron&trade;">
>>> <![endif]-->
>>> <div class="caption">
>>> <div class="text1"></div>
>>> <div class="text2">Codatron&trade; Regulator</div>
>>> <p>Our regulator is so quiet that the charge amplifiers used
>>> with the photomultipliers need no shielding during bench testing.</p>
>>> <a href="index-3.html">Read More</a>
>>> </div>
>>> </li>
>>> <!--[if lt IE 11]>
>>> <li class="sl2">
>>> <img src="images/SLIDER2.JPG" alt="RoHS">
>>> <div class="caption">
>>> <div class="text1">Reduction of</div>
>>> <div class="text2">Hazardous Substances</div>
>>> <p>All of our high voltage regulators were
>>> ** END QUOTE **
>>> If i edit out all of the IF..ENDIF code and use only one of the<img
>>> src="images/etc lines, it "works" reasonably well.
>>> That is to say most browsers more-or-less renders the code as one
>>> might like (am ignoring that the width goes from the desired 800DPI to
>>> as much as 1000DPI and shuffles image and text blocks around).
>>> Q:
>>> Why does that added code alter how the browser renders things (by
>>> hiding the top image and related text)?

>>
>> I see it like this:
>> I don't give a damn about how any browser displays things.
>> As long as my code validates, and it functions the way I want, I'm done.
>> I'm not going to satisfy every browser out there.
>>
>> M$ and AOL have their own little worlds they play in and they don't
>> give a
>> damn about any rules but their own.
>>
>> Hell,I'd like to use visual basic on my sites but I can't because VB only
>> works in IE. Because nobody else recognizes it.

> Well, now if you had a website and would like to attract potential
> customers, your attitude would change a whole lot, especially when you
> discover that various well-used browsers were screwing up the image you
> want to present.
>


My son told me that when he used IE sometimes you would go to a site and
instead of the index page you would get something to the effect of

"We don't bother with IE users. Go away and don't come back until you
have a proper browser"

I would like to know how you would implement that.

Tim w

dorayme 08-08-2012 12:12 PM

Re: Stupid question
 
In article <jvte94$tcg$2@dont-email.me>,
Tim W <tim.wnosp@mtavirgin.net> wrote:

> My son told me that when he used IE sometimes you would go to a site and
> instead of the index page you would get something to the effect of
>
> "We don't bother with IE users. Go away and don't come back until you
> have a proper browser"
>
> I would like to know how you would implement that.


You can try to do something like

<http://dorayme.netweaver.com.au/OneT...Others/html.ht
ml>

For MacIE, there would be more work to be done. My internet connection
is playing up for now and I cannot test any of this properly.

--
dorayme

Jonathan N. Little 08-08-2012 12:42 PM

Re: Stupid question
 
dorayme wrote:
> In article <jvte94$tcg$2@dont-email.me>,
> Tim W <tim.wnosp@mtavirgin.net> wrote:
>
>> My son told me that when he used IE sometimes you would go to a site and
>> instead of the index page you would get something to the effect of
>>
>> "We don't bother with IE users. Go away and don't come back until you
>> have a proper browser"
>>
>> I would like to know how you would implement that.

>
> You can try to do something like
>
> <http://dorayme.netweaver.com.au/OneT...Others/html.ht
> ml>
>


Isn't there a way to get your Mac to wrap URLs without breaking them?

<http://dorayme.netweaver.com.au/OneThingForIE_anotherForOthers/html.html>

--
Take care,

Jonathan
-------------------
LITTLE WORKS STUDIO
http://www.LittleWorksStudio.com

Tim Streater 08-08-2012 12:46 PM

Re: Stupid question
 
In article <jvtmsf$cgv$1@dont-email.me>,
"Jonathan N. Little" <lws4art@gmail.com> wrote:

> dorayme wrote:
> > In article <jvte94$tcg$2@dont-email.me>,
> > Tim W <tim.wnosp@mtavirgin.net> wrote:
> >
> >> My son told me that when he used IE sometimes you would go to a site and
> >> instead of the index page you would get something to the effect of
> >>
> >> "We don't bother with IE users. Go away and don't come back until you
> >> have a proper browser"
> >>
> >> I would like to know how you would implement that.

> >
> > You can try to do something like
> >
> > <http://dorayme.netweaver.com.au/OneT...Others/html.ht
> > ml>

>
> Isn't there a way to get your Mac to wrap URLs without breaking them?
>
> <http://dorayme.netweaver.com.au/OneThingForIE_anotherForOthers/html.html>


That's what the angle brackets are for; with those, a proper news reader
can deal with the URL even if it *is* wrapped.

--
Tim

"That excessive bail ought not to be required, nor excessive fines imposed,
nor cruel and unusual punishments inflicted" -- Bill of Rights 1689

Jonathan N. Little 08-08-2012 01:04 PM

Re: Stupid question
 
Tim Streater wrote:
> In article <jvtmsf$cgv$1@dont-email.me>,
> "Jonathan N. Little" <lws4art@gmail.com> wrote:
>
>> dorayme wrote:
>> > In article <jvte94$tcg$2@dont-email.me>,
>> > Tim W <tim.wnosp@mtavirgin.net> wrote:
>> >
>> >> My son told me that when he used IE sometimes you would go to a

>> site and
>> >> instead of the index page you would get something to the effect of
>> >>
>> >> "We don't bother with IE users. Go away and don't come back until you
>> >> have a proper browser"
>> >>
>> >> I would like to know how you would implement that.
>> >
>> > You can try to do something like
>> >
>> > <http://dorayme.netweaver.com.au/OneT...Others/html.ht
>> > ml>

>>
>> Isn't there a way to get your Mac to wrap URLs without breaking them?
>>
>> <http://dorayme.netweaver.com.au/OneThingForIE_anotherForOthers/html.html>
>>

>
> That's what the angle brackets are for; with those, a proper news reader
> can deal with the URL even if it *is* wrapped.
>


But my point was dorayme original URL had <> angle brackets but the URL
was not wrapped but instead has a hard return which breaks the URL which
is visible in quotes above

--
Take care,

Jonathan
-------------------
LITTLE WORKS STUDIO
http://www.LittleWorksStudio.com

Jonathan 08-08-2012 01:23 PM

Re: Stupid question
 
On Wed, 08 Aug 2012 22:12:57 +1000, dorayme wrote:


> <http://dorayme.netweaver.com.au/OneT...Others/html.ht
> ml>


Link broken in Pan on Ubuntu so it is not a Windows or SeaMonkey thing
Tim.

Fixed link:

<http://dorayme.netweaver.com.au/OneThingForIE_anotherForOthers/html.html>

--
Jonathan
=========================
www.LittleWorksStudio.com

Gene Wirchenko 08-08-2012 04:57 PM

Re: Stupid question
 
On Wed, 08 Aug 2012 11:16:12 +0100, Tim W <tim.wnosp@mtavirgin.net>
wrote:

[snip]

>My son told me that when he used IE sometimes you would go to a site and
>instead of the index page you would get something to the effect of
>
>"We don't bother with IE users. Go away and don't come back until you
>have a proper browser"
>
>I would like to know how you would implement that.


Why bother antagonising people? I prefer Firefox myself, but if
I ran across anything like that for any browser, I would avoid the
site.

Sincerely,

Gene Wirchenko

P E Schoen 08-08-2012 08:19 PM

Re: Stupid question
 
"Gene Wirchenko" wrote in message
news:7h6528dqbimmc8bvrnh687cqn3vijonpvv@4ax.com...

> Why bother antagonising people? I prefer Firefox myself,
> but if I ran across anything like that for any browser, I would
> avoid the site.


Good point. I agree. It may be better to put a banner on the website saying
that Firefox or other non-IE browser is highly recommended for proper
viewing. Maybe there is a way to detect that a certain feature is not
working or displaying properly, or just detect IE and display accordingly. I
spent some time last night searching for why my web page and JavaScript
didn't work in IE9 and I found these references which further intensified my
dismay with IE9 and Microsoft:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/libr...(v=VS.85).aspx
http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/For...8-69eb07fbe7f3
http://blogs.msdn.com/b/ie/archive/2...avascript.aspx

Paul



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.