Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Javascript (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f68-javascript.html)
-   -   Creating a scrollable Frame in the same page (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t921758-creating-a-scrollable-frame-in-the-same-page.html)

success_ny@yahoo.com 12-06-2005 06:18 PM

Creating a scrollable Frame in the same page
 
I cannot seem to find the answer to this rather simple question. Pardon
me if it looks illogial or silly.

Can I create a frame in the same page without referring to other html
files? I.e., I have a large dynamically created table in my JSP page. I
would like to place it inside the scrollable frame. If I put the whole
table into a separate file, I can easily do it by referring to that
HTML file from the 'src' attribute. But what if I want to create this
frame in the same page without referring to the outside html files?

I tried to place my table content inside the anchor link and then refer
to it from the frame like this:

<frameset cols="200">
<frame src="#framed" scrolling="yes" frameborder="1">
</frameset>

That obviously did not work.

Any ideas?


Thomas 'PointedEars' Lahn 12-08-2005 03:12 PM

Re: Creating a scrollable Frame in the same page
 
success_ny@yahoo.com wrote:

> Can I create a frame in the same page without referring to other html
> files? I.e., I have a large dynamically created table in my JSP page. I
> would like to place it inside the scrollable frame. If I put the whole
> table into a separate file, I can easily do it by referring to that
> HTML file from the 'src' attribute. But what if I want to create this
> frame in the same page without referring to the outside html files?
>
> I tried to place my table content inside the anchor link and then refer
> to it from the frame like this:
>
> <frameset cols="200">
> <frame src="#framed" scrolling="yes" frameborder="1">
> </frameset>


Use the `iframe' or the `object' element instead.

> That obviously did not work.


Try

<img
src="data:image/png;base64,iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAAA0AAAAPBAMAAAD NDVhEAAAAD1BMVEX%2F%2F%2F8cHBz%2F%2F%2F%2BMjIxOTk4 DFJMfAAAAAXRSTlMAQObYZgAAAAFiS0dEAIgFHUgAAAAJcEhZc wAACxEAAAsRAX9kX5EAAAAHdElNRQfUBR0MMDTYAM%2BJAAAAN klEQVR4nGNggAMTQWcQ5SgoKCjCwMAsCAIODCyCEL4hhALRIhB lYArOh8nD1MP0w8yDmw8BAHX0Bi31%2FaYsAAAAAElFTkSuQmC C"
alt="Pacman">

(courtesy of Eric B. Bednarz[1]). If that works in your UA,

src="data:text/html;charset=ISO-8859-1,&lt;!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC ..."

should work _there_ as well. Note that you will run into problems
with the Same Origin Policy[2] then as there is no domain.

Not a J(ava)Script/ECMAScript question, though. (Java != JavaScript)


PointedEars
___________
[1] news:m3vezd9inp.fsf@nntp.bednarz.nl
[2]
<URL:http://www.mozilla.org/projects/security/components/same-origin.html>


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:55 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.