Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Javascript (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f68-javascript.html)
-   -   Populating a combobox from an XML file (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t919240-populating-a-combobox-from-an-xml-file.html)

Billy Smith 07-18-2005 03:08 PM

Populating a combobox from an XML file
 
How do you go about populating a select list from an XML file?

I can open the XML file fine and get at all of the data, but I'm stuck on
how to use that data in my <option> tags. Is it even possible?

Thanks.



Martin Honnen 07-18-2005 04:37 PM

Re: Populating a combobox from an XML file
 


Billy Smith wrote:

> How do you go about populating a select list from an XML file?
>
> I can open the XML file fine and get at all of the data, but I'm stuck on
> how to use that data in my <option> tags. Is it even possible?


It depends on the browser how you do it, or how you finally do it
depends on what browsers you target.

If you look at Mozilla or at Opera 8 which have their own combined XML
and HTML DOM implementation then you simply need to make sure you put
XHTML <option> elements in the XML by using the proper namespace and
then you can use the importNode method to import the nodes from the XML
DOM document into your HTML document and use appendChild to insert the
elements into the <select>, e.g.

// parsing X(HT)ML from string here for the example
// but could of course load/parse from a URL
var xmlDocument = new DOMParser().parseFromString(
[
'<dt:data xmlns:dt="http://example.com/2005/dt"',
' xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">',
'<option>Kibo</option>',
'<option>Xibo</option>',
'<option>Jaffo</option>',
'</dt:data>'
].join('\r\n'),
'application/xml'
);
var select = document.createElement('select');
var options = xmlDocument.getElementsByTagNameNS(
'http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml',
'option'
);
for (var i = 0; i < options.length; i++) {
select.appendChild(
select.ownerDocument.importNode(options[i], true));
}
document.body.appendChild(select);


With IE the problem is that IE itself implements the HTML DOM and the
XML DOM is implemented by MSXML and script simply uses MSXML as an
ActiveX component, there is no importNode to move nodes from one DOM
implementation to the other, and even if you use the proper XHTML
namespace then in MSXML's XML DOM you simply have some Element nodes but
not HTMLElement or HTMLOptionElement nodes. So with IE you would need to
write some importNode yourself which traverses the XML DOM and creates
the necessary HTML DOM nodes or you could consider to treat the input as
a markup string which you assign the innerHTML of the select. But the
latter does strange things here for me with IE 6 on Windows XP SP 2, it
does not look like setting innerHTML on the select is a working approach
to get any options to show up.


--

Martin Honnen
http://JavaScript.FAQTs.com/

VK 07-18-2005 07:38 PM

Re: Populating a combobox from an XML file
 


Martin Honnen wrote:
> With IE the problem is that IE itself implements the HTML DOM and the
> XML DOM is implemented by MSXML and script simply uses MSXML as an
> ActiveX component, there is no importNode to move nodes from one DOM
> implementation to the other, and even if you use the proper XHTML
> namespace then in MSXML's XML DOM you simply have some Element nodes but
> not HTMLElement or HTMLOptionElement nodes. So with IE you would need to
> write some importNode yourself which traverses the XML DOM and creates
> the necessary HTML DOM nodes or you could consider to treat the input as
> a markup string which you assign the innerHTML of the select. But the
> latter does strange things here for me with IE 6 on Windows XP SP 2, it
> does not look like setting innerHTML on the select is a working approach
> to get any options to show up.



The problem is that IE implements rather strict databinding scheme.
With a normal XMLData/XMLTemplate scheme there is no problem:

<?xml version='1.0'?>
<xsl:stylesheet xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform"
version="1.0">
<xsl:template match="/">
<HTML>
<BODY>
....
<xsl:for-each select="portfolio/stock">
<SELECT NAME="Portfolio">
<OPTION><xsl:value-of select="name"/></OPTION>
</SELECT>
</xsl:for-each>
....
</xsl:template>
</xsl:stylesheet>
(Actually it already works in FF too)

And for all kind of tabular data (anyhow delimited fields' set) they
have full set databound elements populating automatically upon new data
arrival.

As many browsers do not stay even close to that, users need so far to
make an equivalend of a stomach surgery through the nostrils (to not
mention other place :-) Thus they load XML to a static HTML page and
then manually place each peace of info to the right spot.

If Co & Co hopes to win corporate customers this way, they are sorry
mistaken. :-(



All times are GMT. The time now is 08:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.