Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   NZ Computing (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f47-nz-computing.html)
-   -   xtra.co.nz/neo/45454 (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t806971-xtra-co-nz-neo-45454-a.html)

Geopelia 12-15-2011 11:17 AM

xtra.co.nz/neo/45454
 
I got an email from system admin telling me to upgrade my account, which I
suspected was spam.
It told me to click on xtra.co.nz/neo/45454

I didn't do that of course.

It was supposed to be from Yahoo! New Zealand Technical Support Team.

So I googled Yahoo! New Zealand Technical Support Team and got what seemed
to be a genuine page to ask a question on, and I asked if it was a genuine
email.

I got a reply saying somebody was waiting to answer, and if I was satisfied
with the answer (which after all only had to be Yes or No) I should pay $59.

I had a lot of trouble trying to get the website to cancel, it kept asking
if I wanted to navigate away from the page.

What do you think of that?

I'm just ignoring it of course.



Dave Doe 12-15-2011 11:40 AM

Re: xtra.co.nz/neo/45454
 
In article <jccl0e$i4v$1@dont-email.me>, Geopelia@nowhere.com, Geopelia
says...
>
> I got an email from system admin telling me to upgrade my account, which I
> suspected was spam.
> It told me to click on xtra.co.nz/neo/45454


No such page. But I suspect it is not the link it would have gone to.
To see where it would *really* take you - hover over the link (forget
about what the link *says) - hover over it, and either beside the mouse,
or down the bottom in the status bar - the *real* link will be visible.

>
> I didn't do that of course.
>
> It was supposed to be from Yahoo! New Zealand Technical Support Team.
>
> So I googled Yahoo! New Zealand Technical Support Team and got what seemed
> to be a genuine page to ask a question on, and I asked if it was a genuine
> email.


Yer what! If you want to get some info from xtra - go to Xtra. Go
*directly* to Xtra - don't Google it!
So you start at:
http://www.telecom.co.nz/xtra

Googling it and going to any link other than Xtra pages (and I'm not
convinced *you* can tell, or know how to) - is only likely to get you on
malicious pages again.

>
> I got a reply saying somebody was waiting to answer, and if I was satisfied
> with the answer (which after all only had to be Yes or No) I should pay $59.
>
> I had a lot of trouble trying to get the website to cancel, it kept asking
> if I wanted to navigate away from the page.
>
> What do you think of that?
>
> I'm just ignoring it of course.


You do that.

Again... if you want to get info from Telecom/Xtra - go *directly* to
their site and either search from there, or use their Support/Contact
options to ask a question.

http://www.telecom.co.nz/xtra


--
Duncan.

Geopelia 12-15-2011 12:57 PM

Re: xtra.co.nz/neo/45454
 

"Dave Doe" <hard@work.ok> wrote in message
news:MPG.2954a3ca624e3fe2989883@news.eternal-september.org...
> In article <jccl0e$i4v$1@dont-email.me>, Geopelia@nowhere.com, Geopelia
> says...
>>
>> I got an email from system admin telling me to upgrade my account, which
>> I
>> suspected was spam.
>> It told me to click on xtra.co.nz/neo/45454

>
> No such page. But I suspect it is not the link it would have gone to.
> To see where it would *really* take you - hover over the link (forget
> about what the link *says) - hover over it, and either beside the mouse,
> or down the bottom in the status bar - the *real* link will be visible.
>
>>
>> I didn't do that of course.
>>
>> It was supposed to be from Yahoo! New Zealand Technical Support Team.
>>
>> So I googled Yahoo! New Zealand Technical Support Team and got what
>> seemed
>> to be a genuine page to ask a question on, and I asked if it was a
>> genuine
>> email.

>
> Yer what! If you want to get some info from xtra - go to Xtra. Go
> *directly* to Xtra - don't Google it!
> So you start at:
> http://www.telecom.co.nz/xtra
>
> Googling it and going to any link other than Xtra pages (and I'm not
> convinced *you* can tell, or know how to) - is only likely to get you on
> malicious pages again.
>
>>
>> I got a reply saying somebody was waiting to answer, and if I was
>> satisfied
>> with the answer (which after all only had to be Yes or No) I should pay
>> $59.
>>
>> I had a lot of trouble trying to get the website to cancel, it kept
>> asking
>> if I wanted to navigate away from the page.
>>
>> What do you think of that?
>>
>> I'm just ignoring it of course.

>
> You do that.
>
> Again... if you want to get info from Telecom/Xtra - go *directly* to
> their site and either search from there, or use their Support/Contact
> options to ask a question.
>
> http://www.telecom.co.nz/xtra
>


Thank you. I'll do that.

It looks as though the whole thing is a scam.

Geopelia




Frank Williams 12-15-2011 01:29 PM

Re: xtra.co.nz/neo/45454
 
On Fri, 16 Dec 2011 00:17:31 +1300, "Geopelia" <Geopelia@nowhere.com>
wrote:

>I got an email from system admin telling me to upgrade my account, which I
>suspected was spam.
>It told me to click on xtra.co.nz/neo/45454
>
>I didn't do that of course.
>
>It was supposed to be from Yahoo! New Zealand Technical Support Team.
>
>So I googled Yahoo! New Zealand Technical Support Team and got what seemed
>to be a genuine page to ask a question on, and I asked if it was a genuine
>email.
>
>I got a reply saying somebody was waiting to answer, and if I was satisfied
>with the answer (which after all only had to be Yes or No) I should pay $59.
>
>I had a lot of trouble trying to get the website to cancel, it kept asking
>if I wanted to navigate away from the page.
>
>What do you think of that?
>
>I'm just ignoring it of course.
>




You seems to get conned all the time, I get 5 every week, just ignore
them..

like 3 or 4 ISP's, 3 or 4 Banks and the IRD the other day..


victor 12-15-2011 09:24 PM

Re: xtra.co.nz/neo/45454
 
On 16/12/2011 2:29 a.m., Frank Williams wrote:

> You seems to get conned all the time, I get 5 every week, just ignore
> them..
>
> like 3 or 4 ISP's, 3 or 4 Banks and the IRD the other day..
>


With so many names, why are you surprised ?

Frank Williams 12-15-2011 11:19 PM

Re: xtra.co.nz/neo/45454
 
On Fri, 16 Dec 2011 10:24:11 +1300, victor <user1@example.net> wrote:

>On 16/12/2011 2:29 a.m., Frank Williams wrote:
>
>> You seems to get conned all the time, I get 5 every week, just ignore
>> them..
>>
>> like 3 or 4 ISP's, 3 or 4 Banks and the IRD the other day..
>>

>
>With so many names, why are you surprised ?





No one Email Name..

Try to think next time you post..


Gordon 12-16-2011 04:13 AM

Re: xtra.co.nz/neo/45454
 
On 2011-12-15, Geopelia <Geopelia@nowhere.com> wrote:
> I got an email from system admin telling me to upgrade my account, which I
> suspected was spam.


Now, did you wish to upgrade your account? Was this a cold call? If so I
would have dumped it.

Cold calling is about you paying money to them for something you do not
want.

Manners may never go out of style, but there are times when they need to be
on leave.


Gordon 12-16-2011 04:15 AM

Re: xtra.co.nz/neo/45454
 
On 2011-12-15, Frank Williams <FWilliams@happy.com.ru> wrote:
> On Fri, 16 Dec 2011 10:24:11 +1300, victor <user1@example.net> wrote:
>
>>On 16/12/2011 2:29 a.m., Frank Williams wrote:
>>
>>> You seems to get conned all the time, I get 5 every week, just ignore
>>> them..
>>>
>>> like 3 or 4 ISP's, 3 or 4 Banks and the IRD the other day..
>>>

>>
>>With so many names, why are you surprised ?

>
>
>
>
> No one Email Name..
>
> Try to think next time you post..
>


Classic! Made my day

Dave Taylor 12-16-2011 09:47 AM

Re: xtra.co.nz/neo/45454
 
Frank Williams <FWilliams@happy.com.ru> wrote in
news:3atje756vgd68a0po9piblod4v5oc5m89f@4ax.com:

> You seems to get conned all the time, I get 5 every week, just ignore
> them..
>
> like 3 or 4 ISP's, 3 or 4 Banks and the IRD the other day..


I think you mean targeted, not conned. Conned means you actually pay the
scam IMHO.

--
Ciao, Dave

Richard 12-17-2011 02:17 AM

Re: xtra.co.nz/neo/45454
 
On 12/16/2011 12:40 AM, Dave Doe wrote:

> Yer what! If you want to get some info from xtra - go to Xtra. Go
> *directly* to Xtra - don't Google it!
> So you start at:
> http://www.telecom.co.nz/xtra
>
> Googling it and going to any link other than Xtra pages (and I'm not
> convinced *you* can tell, or know how to) - is only likely to get you on
> malicious pages again.


Yeah, the problem is lots of "internet courses" teach people to Google
for links for some bizarre reason.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.