Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   NZ Computing (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f47-nz-computing.html)
-   -   socks to ssl proxy for windows? (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t687604-socks-to-ssl-proxy-for-windows.html)

Richard 06-12-2009 09:06 AM

socks to ssl proxy for windows?
 
Having to use the net at a few places with rather bizzare port
restrictions and many things being available on non standard ports that
I would like to get to is a pain.

Is there anything for windows that will ssl thru (which is allowed) and
then present a socks proxy locally for firefox etc to use and use the
ssl port fowarding to get thru to the destination server?

Stephen Worthington 06-12-2009 12:16 PM

Re: socks to ssl proxy for windows?
 
On Fri, 12 Jun 2009 21:06:10 +1200, Richard <rich@ihug.co.nz> wrote:

>Having to use the net at a few places with rather bizzare port
>restrictions and many things being available on non standard ports that
>I would like to get to is a pain.
>
>Is there anything for windows that will ssl thru (which is allowed) and
>then present a socks proxy locally for firefox etc to use and use the
>ssl port fowarding to get thru to the destination server?


If you have somewhere you can set up an OpenVPN server, you can just
set that up to accept port 22 tcp connections and then connect to it
from wherever you need to and route all your traffic through the VPN.
Then you get normal ports as per the system running the OpenVPN
server. OpenVPN uses SSL encryption, so if the routers giving you
problems are level 7 capable, I think they should still only see SSL
connections on port 22 (which is normally open for SSH) and it should
work. That setup worked for me from a company with somewhat paranoid
routers.

Richard 06-12-2009 02:06 PM

Re: socks to ssl proxy for windows?
 
Stephen Worthington wrote:

> If you have somewhere you can set up an OpenVPN server, you can just
> set that up to accept port 22 tcp connections and then connect to it
> from wherever you need to and route all your traffic through the VPN.
> Then you get normal ports as per the system running the OpenVPN
> server. OpenVPN uses SSL encryption, so if the routers giving you
> problems are level 7 capable, I think they should still only see SSL
> connections on port 22 (which is normally open for SSH) and it should
> work. That setup worked for me from a company with somewhat paranoid
> routers.


While the nntp server I use was down I found bitvise tunneler which does
just what I need.

will see how it goes at tech next, but from home its allowing me to get
to trademe with the same IP that my web server uses so I can browse
without anything to link the 2 local browsers together which was my main
desire at the moment.

EMB 06-12-2009 08:35 PM

Re: socks to ssl proxy for windows?
 
Richard wrote:
> will see how it goes at tech next, but from home its allowing me to get
> to trademe with the same IP that my web server uses so I can browse
> without anything to link the 2 local browsers together which was my main
> desire at the moment.


Ahhh - your real objective was to be able to place shill bids on your
own auctions without being caught by trademe.

Richard 06-13-2009 11:12 AM

Re: socks to ssl proxy for windows?
 
EMB wrote:
> Richard wrote:
>> will see how it goes at tech next, but from home its allowing me to
>> get to trademe with the same IP that my web server uses so I can
>> browse without anything to link the 2 local browsers together which
>> was my main desire at the moment.

>
> Ahhh - your real objective was to be able to place shill bids on your
> own auctions without being caught by trademe.


No, its so I can operate on a friends account from the webserver so we
don't get suspended again since him and my self sell the same stuff and
they dont like 2 logins from the same place with the same product range
and we have had this problem in the past.

Richard 06-14-2009 10:55 PM

Re: socks to ssl proxy for windows?
 
EMB wrote:
> Richard wrote:
>> will see how it goes at tech next, but from home its allowing me to
>> get to trademe with the same IP that my web server uses so I can
>> browse without anything to link the 2 local browsers together which
>> was my main desire at the moment.

>
> Ahhh - your real objective was to be able to place shill bids on your
> own auctions without being caught by trademe.


And I am able to get online at the problem hotspot too :)

EMB 06-15-2009 10:35 AM

Re: socks to ssl proxy for windows?
 
Richard wrote:
> EMB wrote:
>> Richard wrote:
>>> will see how it goes at tech next, but from home its allowing me to
>>> get to trademe with the same IP that my web server uses so I can
>>> browse without anything to link the 2 local browsers together which
>>> was my main desire at the moment.

>>
>> Ahhh - your real objective was to be able to place shill bids on your
>> own auctions without being caught by trademe.

>
> And I am able to get online at the problem hotspot too :)


Well done :-)


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.