Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Cisco (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f27-cisco.html)
-   -   Basic Routing Problem (1 router 2 subnets) (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t651366-basic-routing-problem-1-router-2-subnets.html)

Hopper 01-05-2009 03:35 PM

Basic Routing Problem (1 router 2 subnets)
 
I know this has been posted before but it didnt help me:

I am trying to route between the subnets 71.87.16.x /30 and 71.87.16.x /28 on the same router, a cisco 1841.


the fiber box is set to 71.87.16.101 /30 and interface fa0/0 of the router is set to 71.87.16.102 /30, and the router's default gateway is set to 71.87.16.101

Fa0/1 of the router is set to 71.87.16.209 /28

the host is set to 71.87.16.210 /28 with a gateway of 71.87.16.209

the problem: From the outside interface of the router (FA0/0) i can ping though the fiber box and get to internet successfully pinging a site like google and get a response, but, on the inside interface (FA0/1) and Host i can ping the fiberbox, but not the internet (or im not getting the reply)

Any help woould be appreciated: (ip routing is enabled)

[Fiber box] - .101 /30
=
=
=
[Router] - (FA0/0 .102 /30) (FA0/1 .209 /28) (.101 gateway)
=
=
=
[Host] - Static Ip .210 /28 gateway .209

Configuration:
show run
Building configuration...

Current configuration : 704 bytes
!
version 12.4
!
boot-start-marker
boot-end-marker
!
!
no aaa new-model
!
resource policy
!
ip cef
!
!
interface Loopback0
no ip address
!
interface FastEthernet0/0
ip address 71.87.16.102 255.255.255.252
duplex auto
speed auto
!
interface FastEthernet0/1
ip address 71.87.16.209 255.255.255.240
duplex auto
speed auto
!
interface Serial0/0/0
no ip address
shutdown
!
ip default-gateway 71.87.16.101
ip route 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 71.87.16.101
no ip http server
!
!
control-plane
!
!
line con 0
line aux 0
line vty 0 4
login
!
scheduler allocate 20000 1000
end

slaquer 01-06-2009 03:52 AM

You don't need both a default route (the 0.0.0.0) and the ip default-gateway configs. They do the same thing. That's probably not the problem though...

I would like to see a sh ip route output. Does it show the two subnets correctly pointing to the correct gateways?

Most definately sounds like a route issue to me.

Can the two internal subnets ping each other? I know you can ping the fiber box, but can you ping hosts on the other subnet?


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.