Velocity Reviews

Velocity Reviews (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/index.php)
-   Wireless Networking (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/f19-wireless-networking.html)
-   -   Ad hoc network (http://www.velocityreviews.com/forums/t646043-ad-hoc-network.html)

ewastudent 11-25-2008 05:53 PM

Ad hoc network
 
could i set up a ad hoc network with my vista laptop and my 98 windows pc,?
the pc doesn't have internet. i was wondering, without the router from
downstairs, if i could connect the two, even with a cable?


Jack \(MS, MVP-Networking\) 11-25-2008 07:14 PM

Re: Ad hoc network
 
Hi
Wire or wireless, No matter what the PC needs a valid working Network card.
The best would be if it can connect directly to the Router.
If the laptop is connected to the Router Wirelessly at the same spot, then
the Windows 98 PC when equipped with Wireless card can connect too.
Here is a good Wireless Card that is inexpensive and can be used with
Windows 98.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833315041
Otherwise the Laptop needs two Network Cards, the PC should be connected
with a cross over wire to the Laptop, and the two Should be Bridged to your
main Router.
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../cc748895.aspx
Jack (MS, MVP-Networking)

"ewastudent" <ewastudent@microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:uH4OHbyTJHA.5344@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
> could i set up a ad hoc network with my vista laptop and my 98 windows
> pc,? the pc doesn't have internet. i was wondering, without the router
> from downstairs, if i could connect the two, even with a cable?




All times are GMT. The time now is 09:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin®. Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.